NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Indoor Soccer Leagues Unite to Create Major Arena Soccer League

May 20, 2014 - Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) - Wichita B-52s News Release

Wichita, Kansas - May 20, 2014 - Indoor Soccer Leagues Unite to Create Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) The Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) was officially announced during a press conference held in Baltimore, MD on Monday (5/19). Teams from the former Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL) have joined with teams from the Professional Arena Soccer League (PASL) to create one unified league. The new league was formed after team owners gathered in Baltimore over the weekend for an annual ownership meeting.

The MASL will feature the top professional indoor teams in the United States and Mexico. The league currently consists of 24 teams and will be divided into four divisions based on geography.

Each team will play 10 home games and 10 road games with three teams from each division making the playoffs (schedules and playoff format will be released at the beginning of September). The Dallas Sidekicks will host the MASL's inaugural game against the MISL Champions, the Missouri Comets, on Saturday, October 25th at the Allen Events Center.

"I am very excited for the future and potential of this league. I met some really great people this weekend that share the same passion for soccer and this league as me and there is a lot of optimism for the upcoming season(s). Combining these teams will be fantastic for supporters, as many old rivalries will be rekindled with new ones being created as the league grows," Wichita B-52s Owner Joey Pindell said.

Ed Hale, Chairman of the League, stated "I am pleased as an owner and Chairman of the newly formed league that we have the framework for a "super" league that will foster expansion, a TV deal and national sponsors. It has been tough to get this far. We have had collegial talks with a group of well-meaning partners."

Commissioner Kevin Milliken commented "I am proud of how fast we were able to put this deal together, how much true passion everyone has for our sport, and how everyone has come together to make this great day in our sport happen."

The next order of business for the MASL is to structure other elements of the league, including the new league logo, rules, division layout, and other key components that will shape the future of the sport of indoor soccer. This information is expected to be released around mid-June.

The 24 teams of the MASL:

Baltimore Blast

Barracudas FC

Chicago Mustangs

Cincinnati Saints

Dallas Sidekicks

Detroit Waza

Harrisburg Heat

Hidalgo La Fiera FC

Las Vegas Legends

Mexico Toros

Milwaukee Wave

Missouri Comets

Monterrey Flash

Ontario Fury

Rochester Lancers

Saltillo Rancho Seco

San Diego Sockers

St. Louis Ambush

Syracuse Silver Knights

Tacoma Stars

Texas Strikers

Tulsa Revolution

Turlock Express

Wichita B-52s

• Discuss this story on the Major Arena Soccer League message board...

Major Arena Soccer League Stories from May 20, 2014

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.