NFL, NBA, NHL stats

IFL Announces Individual Award Winners

June 27, 2013 - Indoor Football League (IFL) News Release

Richmond, VA - The Indoor Football League (IFL) is proud to announce the winners of the 2013 Individual Awards.

Most Valuable Player: Jameel Sewell (QB, Nebraska Danger)

Nebraska Danger QB Jameel Sewell (6'3, 220, Virginia) has been named the 2013 IFL MVP. In the IFL's 5-year history, Sewell is the 3rd different quarterback to win the award (Chris Dixon 2009, 2011, 2012 / Bryan Randall 2010).

In his first season with the Danger, Sewell put together one of the most prolific seasons in IFL history. While leading the Danger to a team best 10-4 record, the dual-threat signal caller ranked at or near the top of every passing and rushing category. Sewell finished 2013 with a 109.9 QB Rating, completing 53% of his passes for 2531 yards and 52 touchdowns vs. only 5 interceptions. Sewell was equally dangerous using his legs adding 654 yards on 123 carries and 25 scores on the ground.

Sewell and his Danger teammates are preparing to play in their first ever United Bowl Championship Game this Saturday, June 29th, at 7:05 PM against the Sioux Falls Storm.

Coach of the Year: Mark Stoute (Cedar Rapids Titans)

Cedar Rapids Titans Head Coach Mark Stoute has been named the 2013 IFL Coach of the Year. In his first season with the Titans, and as a head coach in the IFL, Stoute led Cedar Rapids to the best finish in team history (9-5 record) and the team's first ever playoff berth. The Titans fell to the Storm in last week's United Conference Championship Game, 44-20.

Under Stoute's guidance, the Titans were one of the most balanced teams in the IFL during the 2013 season. The Titan's offensive unit ranked #2 in the league, scoring 53.1 points per game while the defense also ranked #2, allowing only 40.6 points per game.

A total of 6 Titans players were selected to All-IFL Teams for the 2013 season. RB Laron Council, WR Carl Sims, and DL Xzavie Jackson earned First Team spots while WR Bryan Pray, Center Maurice Robinson, and DB Ricky Johnson claimed spots on the Second Team.

"Truly a great honor. I am grateful for my players and the other coaches on the staff including Coach Ponder, Coach Flanagan, Coach Custer, and Coach Reeves. Without these individuals we would not have had the success we had this season," stated Stoute. "We have great fans and a first class organization in Cedar Rapids which obviously makes it much easier to be successful. I'm looking forward to an even better 2014 season as we as a unit look to build upon this season."

Offensive Player of the Year: Jameel Sewell (QB, Nebraska Danger)

In addition to earning League MVP, Sewell was also named 2013 IFL Offensive Player of the Year. Leading the league's #1 ranked offense (54.8 points per game), Sewell accounted for 77 total touchdowns during the 2013 season.

Defensive Player of the Year: Tyler Knight (LB, Sioux Falls Storm)

Sioux Falls Storm LB Tyler Knight was named 2013 IFL Defensive Player of the Year. Knight (6'0, 225, Mississippi Valley State), lead the IFL in tackles with 153, the second highest season total in IFL history (167, Ameer Ismail 2012).

The Storm's "Superman" paved the way for a defensive unit that ranked #1 in the IFL, allowing only 35.7 points per game. In addition to 153 tackles, Knight registered 4 sacks, 1 interception, 5 forced fumbles, 1 fumble recovery for a touchdown, 8 pass break-ups, and was named Defensive Player of the Week twice (Week 1 and Week 12).

Knight leads the Storm into the United Bowl Championship this weekend in what will undoubtedly be an exciting matchup with Sewell and the Nebraska Danger.

Special Teams Player of the Year: B.J. Hill (KR, Green Bay Blizzard)

Green Bay Blizzard kick returner B.J. Hill (5'10, 190, Ball State) was named 2013 IFL Special Teams Player of the Year. This is Hill's second such selection, he was voted Special Team's Player of the Year during the 2011 season as well.

In 2013, Hill finished second in kickoff return yards (1041) and kickoff return touchdowns (2). He ranked first in kickoff return average at 18.9 per return (minimum 11 returns).

Rookie of the Year: Cody Kirby (QB, Chicago Slaughter)

Chicago Slaughter QB Cody Kirby (5'11, 215, Missouri State) was voted 2013 IFL Rookie of the Year. Kirby led the Slaughter to the team's best regular season finish in their IFL tenure at 9-5. In addition to winning Rookie of the Year, the first year IFL pro was named the All-IFL Second Team Quarterback.

During the 2013 season, Kirby finished with a 111.0 QB rating (2nd in IFL), completed 62% of his passes (2nd in IFL), 1993 passing yards (4th in IFL), and 39 passing touchdowns (4th in IFL). Kirby was also a threat with his running ability, rushing for 388 yards and 13 touchdowns.

Adam Pringle Award: Lionell Singleton (DB, Tri-Cities Fever)

Tri-Cities Fever DB Lionell Singleton (5'9, 180, Florida International) was recipient of the 2013 Adam Pringle Award. The Adam Pringle Award is given to the player or coach who exemplified outstanding service and dedication to their surrounding community.

Not only a great person off the field, Singleton has enjoyed success on the field as well, earning a First Team All-IFL Defense selection for the second consecutive season. Singleton finished the season 2013 with 90 tackles, 9 interceptions, one returned for a touchdown, and 8 pass break-ups.

• Discuss this story on the Indoor Football League message board...

Indoor Football League Stories from June 27, 2013

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew