Sports stats

Futures League Releases 2015 Regular Season Schedule

December 15, 2014 - Futures Collegiate Baseball League (FCBL)
Old Orchard Beach News Release

Chelmsford, MA- On Friday, December 12, Futures Collegiate Baseball League (FCBL) Commissioner Chris Hall released the 2015 Futures League regular season schedule. " The 2014 season proved that we're one of the top leagues in the country. Now with the addition of our new Bristol, CT (Blues) franchise, we'll continue our climb to the top." The Futures League 's fifth season is set to open on Thursday, June 4 when all 10 teams will be action.

For the second straight year, the Futures League will feature two divisions. With the shift of Old Orchard Beach to Bristol, there will be a slight change in the division alignment. The East Division will now consist of Nashua, Seacoast, North Shore, Brockton and Martha's Vineyard. While the West Division will consist of Bristol, Wachusett, Worcester, Pittsfield and Torrington.

Each team will play a 56-game regular season schedule split evenly with 28 home games and 28 road games. The regular season runs from Thursday, June 4 through Sunday, August 9 and will be immediately followed by the playoffs. The 2015 Futures League playoffs will feature eight teams. The first two rounds will be one game knock out rounds. The winners of the East and West Divisions will determine the #1 and #2 seeds for the playoffs. Of the two division winners, the team with the higher winning percentage will be the number #1 seed throughout the playoffs, while the other division winner will be the #2 seed throughout the playoffs. Seeds 3 through 8 will be determined by the next six highest winning percentages of the remaining teams. The first round will see the #1 seed face the #8 seed, the #2 seed will face the #7 seed, the #3 seed will face the #6 seed, and the # 4 seed will face the #5 seed. The winners of the first knock out round will face off in another one game knock out round with the highest remaining seed facing the lowest remaining seed and the remaining two teams facing off. The highest seeded teams will host their knockout game. The Futures League championship will be determined by a final 3-game series between the two remaining teams from the knockout rounds. The highest remaining seed will have the choice to host game one or host games two and three.

The 4th Annual Futures League All-Star Game will be hosted this summer by the North Shore Navigators. "The Futures League far and away runs the best Scout Day and All-Star Game in the country. I always look forward to attending their All-Star Games," said one Major League Scout. The game will be held on Tuesday, July 21 at Fraser Field in Lynn, MA. The North Shore Navigators are owned by Pat Salvi and led by long-time baseball executive, GM Bill Terlecky.

The Futures League has quickly become one of the best leagues in the country. The Futures League has seen a meteoric rise to the top in large part due to the league's well-capitalized ownership groups featuring franchises in outstanding communities with tremendous facilities. In addition, the Futures Collegiate Baseball League provides family friendly, affordable fun for its host communities in a minor league style setting. Learn more at

• Discuss this story on the Futures Collegiate Baseball League message board...

Futures Collegiate Baseball League Stories from December 15, 2014

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central