NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Fayetteville's Jesse Biduke Named Rookie of the Year

March 29, 2010 - Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) News Release

CHARLOTTE, NC - The Southern Professional Hockey League on Monday announced that Jesse Biduke of the Fayetteville FireAntz has been selected as the SPHL Rookie of the Year in a vote of SPHL coaches and media representatives.

Columbus Cottonmouths forward Levi Lind finished second in the voting while Huntsville Havoc goaltender Mark Sibbald was third.

Biduke, who was also named to the SPHL All-Rookie team, led SPHL rookies with 58 points, 11 power-play goals, 13 power-play assists and three game-winning goals, while his 26 goals and 32 assists placed him second among rookies.

The Whitby, Ontario native also ranked second on the team in goals and power-play goals, third in points and fourth in assists.

SPHL Rookie of the Year Award Winners

2009-10 - Jesse Biduke, Fayetteville FireAntz

2008-09 - Michael Richard, Twin City Cyclones

2007-08 - Taylor Hustead, Twin City Cyclones

2006-07 - Tim Velemirovich, Fayetteville FireAntz

2005-06 - Rob Sich, Florida Seals

2004-05 - Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Coach of the Year on Tuesday.

• Discuss this story on the Southern Professional Hockey League message board...

Southern Professional Hockey League Stories from March 29, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew