NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Eligible Players for the CFL Most Outstanding Rookie Award

October 14, 2010 - Canadian Football League (CFL) News Release

Toronto, ON - Below is a list of players who are eligible for the 2010 Most Outstanding Rookie award.

In order to be eligible as a candidate for the League award for the "Most Outstanding First Year Player" (Rookie Award), a player must meet the following criteria:

1. He had, in the current season, been named to the active roster of a member Club of the Canadian Football League at the time it played in a regular season game; and

2. He had not:

a) In any prior season dressed for a member Club of the Canadian Football League at the time it played in a regular season or playoff or championship game;

-- and -

b) In the current season or in any prior season, dressed for a member Club in the National Football League, at the time it played in a regular season or post-season or championship game.

The Rookie of the Year is selected by voting members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) and all eight head coaches. The winner will be announced at the Gibson's Finest CFL Player Awards on Thursday, November 25 in Edmonton, Alberta.

The following players meet the above requirements this for this year's voting:


Chima Ihekwoaba DL Wilfrid Laurier Leroy Vann DB Florida A&M Marc-Olivier Brouillette LB Montreal Nickolas Morin-Soucy DL Montreal Taylor Scott DL Central Arkansas Tim Maypray WR Virginia Military Institute


Ejiro Kuale DL LSU Evan McCollough DB James Madison Grant Shaw LB Saskatchewan Jeremy Unertl LB Wisconsin-La Crosse Joe Eppele OL Washington St. Josh Abrams DB Ohio Michael Grant DB Arkansas Ryan Christian WR TCU Spencer Watt WR Simon Fraser Tang Bacheyie LB Kansas


Albert Smith DL Northwestern St. Eric Wilbur P Florida Jonathan Hood DB Western Ontario Marcus Thigpen RB Indiana Ray Wladichuk DB Simon Fraser Reggie Fish WR Arkansas Ryan Hinds DB New Hampshire Samuel Fournier RB Laval Will Heyward DB Texas St. WINNIPEG BLUE BOMBERS

Alex Brink QB Washington St. Alex Suber DB Middle Tennessee St. Andre Douglas OL Temple Chris Greaves DL Western Ontario Chris Smith LB Queen's Cory Watson WR Concordia Deji Oduwole DL Calgary Deon Beasley DB Texas Greg Carr WR Florida St. Jamayel Smith WR Mississippi St. Jerry-Ralph Jules DB Montreal Joey Elliott QB Purdue Justin Palardy K Saint Mary's Marcellus Bowman LB Boston College Moton Hopkins DL Tulsa Scott McHenry WR Saskatchewan Terence Jeffers-Harris WR Vanderbilt


Byron Bullock LB South Dakota Cary Koch WR Virginia Cole Bergquist QB Montana Shomari Williams DL Queen's


Brandon Isaac DB South Carolina Daryll Clark QB Penn St. Deon Murphy WR Kansas St. Edwin Harrison OL Colorado Eric Fraser DB Central Michigan Johnny Forzani WR Washington St. Karl McCartney LB Saint Mary's Landan Talley WR Lambuth Mike Cornell LB Ottawa Ray Cheatham LB Kansas St. Rob Maver K Guelph Steve Myddelton OL St. Francis Xavier Taurean Allen DB Wilfrid Laurier Zac Carlson OL Weber St.


Brad Lester RB Auburn Corbin Sharun DB St. Francis Xavier Daniel Porter RB Louisiana Tech Nate Binder WR Tusculum College Neil Puffer LS Queen's Pascal Fils RB Sherbrooke Roderick Williams DB Alcorn St. Saleem Borhot DB Saint Mary's Tremayne Kirkland WR Portland St. Weldon Brown DB Louisiana Tech Will Harris LB USC

B.C. LIONS Adam Leonard LB Hawaii Akeem Foster WR St. Francis Xavier Andrew Harris RB Vancouver Island Raiders Anthony Reddick DB Miami Dane Randolph OL Maryland Darius Passmore WR Marshall David Hyland DB Morehead St. Dominie Pittman DL North Alabama Hamid Mahmoudi DB Montreal Jeremy Geathers DL UNLV Jerome Messam RB Graceland Joe Henderson LB Alabama-Birmingham Jovan Olafioye OL North Carolina Central Khalif Mitchell DL East Carolina Mike Reilly QB Central Washington Richard Jones DL Texas Tech Sean Ortiz DL UBC Shawn Gore WR Bishop's Solomon Elimimian LB Hawaii Stanley Franks DB Idaho Steven Black WR Memphis Yonus Davis RB San Jose St.

• Discuss this story on the Canadian Football League message board...

Canadian Football League Stories from October 14, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew