NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Baltimore Mariners Grab League's Top Honors

October 5, 2010 - American Indoor Football Association (AIFA) - Baltimore Mariners News Release

BALTIMORE, MD (October 5, 2010) - The Baltimore Mariners, who compiled a historic 16-0 record on their way to the American Indoor Football Association's (AIFA) 2010 national championship, dominated the AIFA's post-season honors on and off the field.

The Mariners swept all four major league awards with Greg Justice being named General Manager of the Year, Chris Simpson was selected as Coach of the Year, Quarterback E.J. Nemeth was picked as the league's Offensive Player of the Year, and defensive back Armar Watson was the AIFA's Defensive Player of the Year. A total of eight Mariners were named First Team All-Stars and Baltimore's Front Office also took top honors.

After being named the Mariners' general manager in 2009 Justice turned around a 4-10 team in 2008 and led them to two straight playoff berths, a combined 25-6 record in 2009 and 2010, and the team's first conference and national championships in 2010. The team also drew a franchise record 6,075 fans to 1st Mariner Arena for the AIFA national championship game on July 25, 2010, in which the Mariners topped the Wyoming Cavalry 57-42.

Simpson was the skipper of a Mariners' team, which became one of only a handful of professional football teams to win a title as undefeated champions. They also became the first squad in AIFA history to complete an undefeated season. Like Justice he compiled a 25-6 record in 2009 and 2010.

Mariners' quarterback E.J. Nemeth, who started every game during the undefeated season and tossed 52 touchdown passes, was named the AIFA's Offensive Player of the Year and was also named as the First Team All-Star Quarterback selection.

For the second season in a row Watson led the AIFA in interceptions. In 2010 he grabbed 13 takeaways and also ranked second on the Mariners with 41 tackles. For his efforts he was named the league's Defensive Player of the Year and First Team All-Star Defensive Back.

In addition to Nemeth and Watson six Mariners were name first team all-stars. Lineman Jeff Tyler, running back Isaiah Grier, and wide receiver Scorpio Brown were first team offensive selections. On defense, end Fearon Wright and linebacker Adam Goloboski were selected 1st Team All-Stars.

Baltimore's J.R. Cipra was also named as the First Team Kicker. The Mariners' Front Office, which consisted of General Manager Justice, Director of Game Day Operations Jim Hopkins, Cheerleading Director Liz Guaraldo, Public Relations Director John Wolfe, Steve McNelly (public relations), and Matthew Theriault (marketing) was also selected Best Front Office.

• Discuss this story on the American Indoor Football Association message board...

American Indoor Football Association Stories from October 5, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Baltimore Mariners Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central