NFL, MLB, CFL stats

AHL Announces Divisional Alignment for 2017-18 Season

May 11, 2017 - American Hockey League (AHL) - San Diego Gulls News Release

SAN DIEGO - American Hockey League (AHL) President and CEO David Andrews announced that the league's Board of Governors, convening for its Spring Meeting earlier this week in Chicago, Ill., has approved a new division alignment for the 2017-18 AHL season.

A member of the eight-team Pacific Division in the AHL's Western Conference, the San Diego Gulls, the primary development affiliate of the Anaheim Ducks, 2017-18 schedule will feature 68 games with 34 home dates at Valley View Casino Center. San Diego's schedule will feature 58 games against the Pacific Division's other seven clubs and 10 inter-conference games against four teams from the Central Division.

The Gulls' inter-division schedule will see the club face in-state rivals Ontario Reign (Los Angeles Kings) and Tucson Roadrunners (Arizona Coyotes) on 12 occasions (six home, six road), and the Bakersfield Condors (Edmonton Oilers), San Jose Barracuda (San Jose Sharks) and Stockton Heat (Calgary Flames) on eight occasions (four home, four road). San Diego will also face the Texas Stars (Dallas Stars) six times (three home, three road) and the San Antonio Rampage (Colorado Avalanche) four times (two home, two road) to round out their Pacific Division schedule.

San Diego's inter-conference schedule will see the Gulls face the Cleveland Monsters (Columbus Blue Jackets) on four occasions (two home, two road) and two games in a home-and-home schedule with each of the Chicago Wolves (St. Louis Blues), Iowa Wild (Minnesota Wild) and Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville Predators). The Gulls have yet to face Chicago and Cleveland since the club's inception in 2015.

The format for the 2018 Calder Cup Playoffs will be finalized by the Board of Governors at its Annual Meeting in Hilton Head Island, S.C., July 2-6, and the complete playing schedule for the 2017-18 regular season, which begins Oct. 6, will be announced this summer.

In operation since 1936, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of today's NHL players are American Hockey League graduates, and for the 16th year in a row, more than 6 million fans attended AHL games across North America in 2016-17.

Below is the new AHL division alignment for 2017-18:

EASTERN CONFERENCE Atlantic Division Bridgeport Sound Tigers Charlotte Checkers Hartford Wolf Pack Hershey Bears Lehigh Valley Phantoms Providence Bruins Springfield Thunderbirds Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins

North Division Belleville Senators Binghamton Devils Laval Rocket Rochester Americans Syracuse Crunch Toronto Marlies Utica Comets

WESTERN CONFERENCE Central Division Chicago Wolves Cleveland Monsters Grand Rapids Griffins Iowa Wild Manitoba Moose Milwaukee Admirals Rockford IceHogs

Pacific Division Bakersfield Condors Ontario Reign San Antonio Rampage San Diego Gulls San Jose Barracuda Stockton Heat Texas Stars Tucson Roadrunners

• Discuss this story on the American Hockey League message board...

American Hockey League Stories from May 11, 2017

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central