NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Agua Caliente Clippers' Angel Delgado Named 2018-19 NBA G League Rookie of the Year

March 30, 2019 - NBA G League (G League) News Release

NEW YORK - Agua Caliente Clippers center Angel Delgado has been named the 2018-19 NBA G League Rookie of the Year. The award, voted on by the league's 27 head coaches and general managers, recognizes the first-year professional who most significantly contributed to his team's success during the season.

Delgado (6-10, 240, Seton Hall) a two-way player with the LA Clippers, averaged 18.5 points and an NBA G League-high 14.8 rebounds in 44 games for Agua Caliente. The 24-year-old registered six games with at least 20 points and 20 rebounds, highlighted by a 40-point, 20-rebound performance in a 120-107 win over the Northern Arizona Suns on March 12. He also set the NBA G League record for rebounds in a game with 31 in a 112-94 victory against the Oklahoma City Blue on Jan. 4.

The LA Clippers signed Delgado to a two-way contract last June after he averaged 13.6 points and 11.8 rebounds as a senior at Seton Hall in the 2017-18 season. He has appeared in two games with the NBA's Clippers this season.

The Dominican Republic native is the second international player to be selected as the NBA G League Rookie of the Year. Abdel Nader (Egypt) earned the honor in the 2016-17 season while playing with the Maine Red Claws.

Delgado will be presented with the NBA G League Rookie of the Year Award today before the LA Clippers host the Cleveland Cavaliers at Staples Center.

Long Island Nets guard-forward Theo Pinson and Sioux Falls Skyforce forward Yante Maten finished second and third, respectively, in Rookie of the Year voting.

NBA G League Rookie of the Year Winners

2018-19: Angel Delgado, Aqua Caliente Clippers

2017-18: Antonio Blakeney, Windy City Bulls

2016-17: Abdel Nader, Maine Red Claws

2015-16: Quinn Cook, Canton Charge

2014-15: Tim Frazier, Maine Red Claws

2013-14: Robert Covington, Rio Grande Valley Vipers

2012-13: Tony Mitchell, Fort Wayne Mad Ants

2011-12: Edwin Ubiles, Dakota Wizards

2010-11: DeShawn Sims, Maine Red Claws

2009-10: Alonzo Gee, Austin Toros

2008-09: Othyus Jeffers, Iowa Energy

2007-08: Blake Ahearn, Dakota Wizards

2006-07: Louis Amundson, Colorado 14ers

2005-06: Will Bynum, Roanoke Dazzle

2004-05: James Thomas, Roanoke Dazzle

2003-04: Desmond Penigar, Asheville Altitude

2002-03: Devin Brown, Fayetteville Patriots

2001-02: Fred House, Charleston Lowgators

• Discuss this story on the NBA G League message board...

NBA G League Stories from March 30, 2019

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central