Wheeling Claims Gingher Trophy as Eastern Conference Champions

May 24, 2016 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

PRINCETON, N.J. - The Wheeling Nailers became the first team in ECHL postseason history to win Games 6 and 7 of a series on the road, defeating the South Carolina Stingrays 5-2 on Tuesday in Game 7 of the Eastern Conference Finals to reach the 2016 Kelly Cup Finals where they will face the defending champion Allen Americans.

Wheeling drew first blood 2:21 into the contest on John McCarron 's eighth goal of the playoffs but David Pacan pulled South Carolina even just 1:08 later as he redirected a Wade Epp shot past Brian Foster .

The Nailers went back ahead at 8:03 when Cody Wydo put a rebound of a McCarron shot past Vitek Vanecek but once again the Stingrays responded with a power-play goal from Austin Fyten at 18:26 to forge a 2-2 tie after 20 minutes.

The game remained tied until the early stages of the third period when the Nailers tallied three goals in the first five minutes of the period. Jarrett Burton gave Wheeling a 3-2 lead 24 seconds into the final frame, Jordan Kwas exended the lead to two goals at 1:09 and Ty Loney made it 5-2 at 5:03.

This marks Wheeling's first trip to the Finals series since the team's first year in Wheeling in 1993 when the Wheeling Thunderbirds fell to the Toledo Storm in six games in the Riley Cup Finals. The club also advanced to the Riley Cup Finals each of the ECHL's first two seasons when it was based in Winston-Salem, N.C. The Thunderbirds defeated the Johnstown Chiefs 4 games to 3 in 1989 before falling to the Greensboro Monarchs 4 games to 1 in 1990.

For winning the Eastern Conference title, the Nailers receive the E.A. "Bud" Gingher Memorial Trophy . The trophy is named in recognition of E.A. "Bud" Gingher, who was Chairman of the ECHL Board of Governors from 1992-95. Gingher, who passed away in 2002, co-founded the Dayton Bombers in 1991 and owned the team for seven seasons, serving as President and Governor until selling the team in 1998. Gingher was inducted into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2009.

Gingher Trophy Champions YEAR CHAMPION

2016 Wheeling Nailers

2015 South Carolina Stingrays

2014 Cincinnati Cyclones

2013 Reading Royals

2012 Florida Everblades

2011 Kalamazoo Wings

2010 Cincinnati Cyclones

2009 South Carolina Stingrays

2008 Cincinnati Cyclones

2007 Dayton Bombers

2006 Gwinnett Gladiators

2005 Florida Everblades

2004 Florida Everblades

2003 Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies

2002 Dayton Bombers

2001 Trenton Titans

2000 Peoria Rivermen

1999 Richmond Renegades

1998 Hampton Roads Admirals

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from May 24, 2016

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central