NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Pop the Champagne: Mudbugs Win 2011 CHL Championship

May 28, 2011 - Central Hockey League (CHL) - Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs News Release

LOVELAND, CO - The Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs won their fourth President's Cup Championship and first since 2001 Friday night at the Budweiser Events Center, defeating the Colorado Eagles 2-1 in Game 7 of the CHL Ray Miron Presidents' Cup Finals. After the first Central Hockey League Championship in the franchise's history, the 2011 Mudbugs become just the second road team in CHL history to win a Game 7 in the Finals. This year's title will join the Mudbugs' three WPHL Championships from 1999, 2000, and 2001 as the fourth title in team history.

Jeff Kyrzakos was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2011 CHL Playoffs after scoring the game-winning goal in Game 7 to finish the postseason with a franchise-record 12 goals and 19 points. The Mudbugs scored first in the game and never looked back, shutting Colorado out for nearly 59 minutes in the hard-fought 2-1 victory. John DeCaro finished with 26 saves on 27 shots, while Steven Crampton notched Bossier-Shreveport's other goal in the win.

The ‘Bugs jumped out to an early lead in Game 7 when Brett Smith and Andy Contois converged on a puck deep in the Colorado zone. Smith bumped an Eagle off the puck and fed it to the top of the circle for Steven Crampton, who one-timed it past Kyle Jones stick-side at 2:58 to put Bossier-Shreveport on top.

Another goal followed less than five minutes later as a great breakout led to Travis Clayton's drop pass to Jim Jorgensen. Jones stopped the initial shot through traffic, but Jeff Kyrzakos was there to slam the rebound through his five-hole to make it a 2-0 Mudbugs. John DeCaro made a key right-pad save on a breakaway chance for Dan Sullivan later in the period and the ‘Bugs led 2-0 after one.

Colorado had a pair of powerplay chances in the second frame and outshot the Mudbugs 8-4, but couldn't manage to beat John DeCaro as the game settled in. The ‘Bugs held many of Colorado's chances to the perimeter and held the high-powered Eagles off the board until well into the third period.

Finishing with a 14-3 shot advantage in the third period, the Eagles finally broke through with 1:04 remaining when Adam Chorneyko fired a perfect shot over DeCaro's glove hand to make it 2-1. Colorado would not threaten again in the final minute however, as Bossier-Shreveport held on to win the game 2-1.

John DeCaro (11-4) tied a CHL record with his 11th postseason after the 26-save effort. Kyle Jones (5-6) took the loss after stopping 18 shots as Colorado outshot Bossier-Shreveport 27-20. The Mudbugs were a perfect 4 for 4 on the penalty kill in the win while going 0 for 4 on their own powerplay.

The 2011 CHL Champion Mudbugs will now return to Bossier City with the Presidents' Cup firmly within their grasp for a Championship celebration with their fans. The Mudbugs' Championship celebration is set for Sunday afternoon from 2:00 to 4:00 pm at the CenturyTel Center. Visit for additional details to be released soon, but plan on being at CTC on Sunday to salute your Presidents' Cup Champion Mudbugs as they return home with the Cup!

Season and group tickets are on sale by calling 318-752-BUGS (2847) or by visiting our website at

• Discuss this story on the Central Hockey League message board...

Central Hockey League Stories from May 28, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central