NFL, MLB, CFL stats

 Central Hockey League

Bossier-Shreveport Wins Ray Miron Presidents' Cup

May 28, 2011 - Central Hockey League (CHL) News Release

TEMPE, AZ (May 27, 2011) - The Central Hockey League's (CHL) Ray Miron Presidents' Cup Finals concluded on Friday night at the Budweiser Events Center in Loveland, Colorado with the Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs earning a 2-1 victory over the Colorado Eagles in the fifth Game 7 in league Finals history giving the ‘Bugs their fourth championship. Bossier-Shreveport, 10 years after winning their last title, defeated the Eagles four games to three in their best-of-7 series.

2011 Ray Miron Presidents' Cup Finals (best-of-7)

Colorado Eagles vs. Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs

Game 1 - Fri., May 13 - EAGLES 3, Mudbugs 2 (OT)

Game 2 - Sat., May 14 - Mudbugs 5, EAGLES 3

Game 3 - Tue., May 17 - Eagles 4, MUDBUGS 2

Game 4 - Thu., May 19 - MUDBUGS 5, Eagles 4 (OT)

Game 5 - Fri., May 20 - MUDBUGS 7, Eagles 2

Game 6 - Wed., May 25 - EAGLES 8, Mudbugs 1

Game 7 - Fri., May 27 - Mudbugs 2, EAGLES 1

The Mudbugs won three of the last four games in the series after falling behind two games to one. In Game 4, the ‘Bugs erased a 4-2 deficit to eventually win in overtime propelling them to their turnaround in the series that also included a 7-2 win in Game 5 and the deciding game 2-1 victory in Game 7. The ‘Bugs already were the only league member to have three CHL/WPHL championships and with their victory now extend their own record to four championships.

Bossier-Shreveport was a three-time champion of the WPHL (Western Professional Hockey League) capturing the title in consecutive seasons (1999, 2000, 2001). The ‘Bugs have played in two Finals since winning their last championship but fell to Laredo on both occasions (2004, 2006).

The Mudbugs win their first Game 7 in five chances in the history of the franchise, while the Eagles lose their first Game 7 in team history, now sitting at 1-4.

Led by head coach Scott Muscutt, the Mudbugs finished the regular season second in the Berry Conference with a 37-26-3 record (77 points). The title marks the second as Bossier-Shreveport head coach for Muscutt (2001) and his fourth CHL/WPHL championship as he was a player on the ‘Bugs 1999 and 2000 championship squads.

The path to the championship for Bossier-Shreveport included a 3-1 best-of-5 series win over the Arizona Sundogs in the opening round, a 3-2 best-of-5 series win over the Tulsa Oilers in the conference semi finals where they won two elimination games, a 4-1 best-of-7 series win over the Governors' Cup champion Allen Americans in the conference finals and the 4-3 series win over the Colorado Eagles in the Presidents' Cup Finals.

Bossier-Shreveport forward Jeff Kyrzakos was named the 2011 CHL Playoff Most Valuable Player. The Toronto native finished the post-season with 19 points (12-7=19) tied for the league lead with 12 goals and three game winning goals. In the Finals, Kyrzakos scored goals in four games and accounted for the game winning goal in three of the ‘Bugs four wins. The 6-2, 200-pound forward had 20 goals and 41 points during the regular season.

CHL Ray Miron Presidents' Cup Champions

2011 - Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs

2010 - Rapid City Rush

2009 - Texas Brahmas

2008 - Arizona Sundogs

2007 - Colorado Eagles

2006 - Laredo Bucks

2005 - Colorado Eagles

2004 - Laredo Bucks

2003 - Memphis RiverKings

2002 - Memphis RiverKings

2001 - Oklahoma City Blazers (WPHL - Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs)

2000 - Indianapolis Ice (WPHL - Shreveport Mudbugs)

1999 - Huntsville Channel Cats (WPHL - Shreveport Mudbugs)

1998 - Columbus Cottonmouths (WPHL - El Paso Buzzards)

1997 - Fort Worth Fire (WPHL - El Paso Buzzards)

1996 - Oklahoma City Blazers

1995 - Wichita Thunder

1994 - Wichita Thunder

1993 - Tulsa Oilers

CHL Playoff Most Valuable Player

2011 - Jeff Kyrzakos, Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs

2010 - Les Reaney, Rapid City Rush

2009 - Jason Deitsch, Texas Brahmas

2008 - Rob McVicar, Arizona Sundogs

2007 - Greg Pankewicz, Colorado Eagles

2006 - Jeff Bes, Laredo Bucks

2005 - Chris Hartsburg, Colorado Eagles

2004 - David Guerrera, Laredo Bucks

2003 - Kahlil Thomas, Memphis RiverKings

2002 - Don Parsons, Memphis RiverKings

2001 - Rod Branch, Oklahoma City Blazers (WPHL - Jason Campbell, Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs)

2000 - Jamie Morris, Indianapolis Ice (WPHL - Hugo Hamelin, Shreveport Mudbugs)

1999 - Derek Puppa, Huntsville Channel Cats (WPHL - John Vecchiarelli, Shreveport Mudbugs)

1998 - Mike Martens, Columbus Cottonmouths (WPHL - Billy Trew, El Paso Buzzards)

1997 - Steve Plouffe, Fort Worth Fire (WPHL - Chris MacKenzie, El Paso Buzzards)

1996 - Jean-Ian Filiatrault, Oklahoma City Blazers

1995 - Ron Handy, Wichita Thunder

1994 - Ron Handy, Wichita Thunder

1993 - Tony Fiore, Tulsa Oilers

• Discuss this story on the Central Hockey League message board...

Central Hockey League Stories from May 28, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central