NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Pensacola's Chris Wilson Named SBK Rookie of the Year

March 30, 2011 - Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) News Release

CHARLOTTE, NC - The Southern Professional Hockey League on Wednesday announced that Chris Wilson of the Pensacola Ice Flyers has been selected as the SBK Rookie of the Year in a vote of SPHL coaches and media representatives.

Augusta RiverHawks forward Neil Graham finished second in the voting.

Wilson led the SPHL in goals (39), game-winning goals (8) and shorthanded goals (4 - tied), while his 71 points was second overall. A native of Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Wilson also ranked second among rookies with 32 assists and eight power-play goals.

SPHL Rookie of the Year Award Winners 2010-11 - Chris Wilson, Pensacola Ice Flyers 2009-10 - Jesse Biduke, Fayetteville FireAntz 2008-09 - Michael Richard, Twin City Cyclones 2007-08 - Taylor Hustead, Twin City Cyclones 2006-07 - Tim Velemirovich, Fayetteville FireAntz 2005-06 - Rob Sich, Florida Seals 2004-05 - Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz The SPHL will announce its Coach of the Year on Thursday.

• Discuss this story on the Southern Professional Hockey League message board...

Southern Professional Hockey League Stories from March 30, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew