NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Miami FC Central Defender Zach Kirby Returns For Second Season

February 9, 2010 - North American Soccer League (NASL) - Fort Lauderdale Strikers News Release

Miami, Florida, - Miami FC announced today that starting central defender Zach Kirby will return for another season. Kirby played 23 games for the Blues in 2009 and proved to be a stalwart for the Miami back line. The Atlanta native was voted "Player of the Year" by the fans for his consistent play and numerous gutty performances.

"It's an excellent signing for the team. Zach is a great player and a great locker room presence. Last year he proved that he is an elite player, and we are excited to have him back wearing Miami FC colors," said Director of Soccer, Fernando Clavijo.

Miami has also come to terms with Kendall native offensive midfielder Bryan Perez. Perez was born in San Jose, Costa Rica and holds dual citizenship - USA and Costa Rica. He made a name for himself at the University of Missouri Kansas City where he finished as the all-time record holder in goals (29), shots on goal (160) and games (78).

All signings are pending USSF approval and international clearance. For real time updates on Miami FC, follow us on twitter at


Miami FC, South Florida's only professional soccer team, is currently in its fifth season. For the 2010 season, the Blues will play in a second division league established and administered by the United States Soccer Federation. The league will feature two conferences with Miami playing in the NASL division. The team is owned by Traffic Sports USA, the North American subsidiary of The Traffic Group, the leading soccer event management company in the Americas with headquarters in Brazil, and offices in the U.S. and Europe. The organization is committed to the advancement of soccer in South Florida at the youth, amateur and professional levels.

ABOUT THE NASL The North American Soccer League (NASL) was established in November 2009 and is comprised of the following active teams: Carolina RailHawks, Crystal Palace Baltimore, Miami FC, Minnesota (name to be determined), Montreal Impact, Rochester Rhinos, AC St. Louis, Tampa Bay Rowdies and Vancouver Whitecaps FC. For the 2010 season, the NASL's nine teams, together with three teams (Austin Aztex, Portland Timbers and Puerto Rico Islanders) from the United Soccer Leagues, will play in a second division league established and administered by the United States Soccer Federation. The league will feature two conferences (NASL and USL) of six teams each, with three NASL teams (Minnesota, Rochester and Tampa Bay) playing in the USL conference. In 2011, the NASL will be joined by teams in Atlanta and certain other cities to be named at a later date. The NASL and its member teams are committed to building on their long tradition of providing a high level of soccer to fans across the United States and Canada in 2010 and beyond.

• Discuss this story on the North American Soccer League message board...

North American Soccer League Stories from February 9, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Fort Lauderdale Strikers Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew