Looking for stats?

Knighthawks Rabil Named to All-MLL Team

August 24, 2012 - National Lacrosse League (NLL) - Rochester Knighthawks News Release

Major League Lacrosse announced Friday the players who have been named to the 2012 Lacrosse.com All-Major League Lacrosse team, recognizing the best players at each position. Rochester Knighthawk Paul Rabil was selected as one of the top midfielders in the outdoor league.

In the pro indoor game, Rabil is the newest member of the Rochester Knighthawks. He was acquired by the 2012 World Championship Knighthawks on July 27th in exchange for Jarrett Davis. The Knighthawks swung the deal with their 2012 Championship Game opponent, the Edmonton Rush.

Honored as the Warrior MLL Offensive Player of the Year for the third time in the last four years, the Boston Cannons star set the MLL single-season record with 72 points in 14 games, including a season-high eight points against Rochester on April 28th and at Denver on May 19th. He also ranked second in the MLL with 38 assists while his 27 goals ranked fifth in the MLL. In addition, he had seven two-point goals, which was tied for fourth in the MLL. One of three players to record at least one point in all 14 games this season, Rabil posted at least two points in all 14 games and had four hat trick efforts.

A five-year MLL veteran, Rabil has scored 133 goals, including 28 two-point markers, with 85 assists in 56 career games. He has tallied at least 50 points in three of his five MLL seasons.

While leading the Chesapeake Bayhawks to a 10-4 record and the second seed in the playoffs, Dixon had a record-setting season and finished the year as the fourth-leading scorer in the MLL with 48 points. He set the MLL single-season record by tallying 15 two-point goals, including a record-tying three two-point goals against Ohio on May 5. He also tallied a pair of two-point goals three other times.

Here is the 2012 Lacrosse.com All-Major League Lacrosse team:

Attack: Ned Crotty (Rochester), Brendan Mundorf (Denver), Ryan Boyle (Boston)

Midfield: Paul Rabil (Boston), Kyle Dixon (Chesapeake), Max Seibald (Long Island)

Defense: Brodie Merrill (Hamilton), Kyle Hartzell (Ohio), Michael Evans (Chesapeake), Lee Zink (Denver)

Goalkeeper: Drew Adams (Long Island)

Face-off Specialist: Greg Gurenlian (Long Island)

The MLL Championship Weekend presented by Warrior will be held on August 25th and 26th at Harvard Stadium. The top-seeded Denver Outlaws will face the fourth-seeded Long Island Lizards in the first semifinal at 1:00 p.m. before the second-seeded Chesapeake Bayhawks will play against the defending MLL champion Boston Cannons, who earned the third seed, in the second semi-final at approximately 4:00 p.m. The two semifinal winners will play in the championship game on Sunday, August 26th at 3:00 p.m.

• Discuss this story on the National Lacrosse League message board...

National Lacrosse League Stories from August 24, 2012

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.