NFL, NBA, NHL stats

IFL Names Individual Award Winners

June 26, 2012 - Indoor Football League (IFL) News Release

Richmond, VA - The Indoor Football League is proud to announce the winners of the 2012 IFL Individual Awards.

Offensive Player of the Year: Sioux Falls Storm QB Chris Dixon has been named the 2012 IFL Offensive Player of the Year. This marks the third time in four years that Dixon has won the award.

Dixon put together perhaps the finest season in IFL history in 2012. Dixon set IFL records in Quarterback Rating (133.3), Completion Percentage (74) and Passing Yards (3321). In addition, he led the Storm to the first undefeated regular season in IFL history. Dixon also finished second in the IFL in rushing yards (711) and touchdowns (30). Dixon finished the season with 97 total touchdowns. He will play in his fourth consecutive Conference Championship game on Saturday, June 30th.

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Bloomington Edge LB Ameer Ismail and Wichita Wild DL Matt Moss have been named the 2012 Co-Defensive Players of the Year. This is the first time in IFL history two players have split the honor.

Ismail set an IFL record this season as he made 167 tackles on defense, which shattered the old record of 140 set by Colorado's Landon Jones in 2010. Additionally, Ismail grabbed three interceptions, forced two fumbles and returned one for a touchdown.

Wild DL Matt Moss is the first Wichita player and the second defensive lineman to be named as a Defensive Player of the Year. During his stellar season Moss led the IFL with 15 sacks, 29 tackles and four forced fumbles.

Special Team Player of the Year: Everett KR Mike Tatum has been named the 2012 IFL Special Teams Player of the Year. Before his season ended prematurely due to injury, Tatum played a major role in other teams' game plans on special teams. Tatum's 1,478 All-Purpose yards on the season ranked him second in the IFL. He was also second in the IFL in kick return yards with 1,015. His five kick return touchdowns tied him for first in the IFL. Tatum was twice named the IFL Special Teams Player of the Week during the 2012 season.

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Wyoming Cavalry WR Jasonus Tillery has been named the 2012 IFL Offensive Rookie of the Year. Despite missing the last game of the season, Tillery tied for first in the IFL in two major statistical categories: touchdowns and receptions. Tillery's 84 receptions and 27 touchdowns shredded defenses all season long. Additionally, Tillery finished second in the IFL with 1051 yards. He is Wyoming's first player to be awarded an end of the season IFL honor.

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Omaha Beef Linebacker Peter Buck has been awarded the 2012 Defensive Rookie of the Year award. Buck led the Beef in tackles with 142, which is also the third most in IFL history. Additionally, Buck had 2.5 sacks, two interceptions, a forced fumble and a fumble returned for a touchdown. Buck is the first Omaha Beef player to be awarded an end of season IFL honor.

Most Improved Player: Nebraska Danger QB Rocky Hinds has been named the 2012 Most Improved Player. Hinds threw for 2,096 yards on the season, eighth most in the IFL. In addition, Hinds led the Nebraska Danger to a franchise best in wins and threw for 49 touchdowns on the season.

Adam Pringle Award: Green Bay Blizzard Head Coach Robert Fuller has been named the recipient of the 2012 Adam Pringle Award. The Adam Pringle Award is given to the player or coach who exemplified outstanding service and dedication to their surrounding community. This is Fuller's second consecutive year of receiving this award.

All awards were determined through a coaches' vote. The IFL MVP and the Coach of the Year will be released on Thursday, June 28th.

• Discuss this story on the Indoor Football League message board...

Indoor Football League Stories from June 26, 2012

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew