NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Huntsville's Mark Sibbald Named SBK Goaltender of the Year

March 29, 2011 - Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) News Release

CHARLOTTE, NC - The Southern Professional Hockey League on Tuesday announced that Mark Sibbald of the Huntsville Havoc has been selected as the SBK Goaltender of the Year in a vote of league coaches and media representatives.

Augusta's Jon Olthuis was second in the voting while Fayetteville's Mike Spillane finished third.

Sibbald finished the regular season second among goaltenders with a 2.51 goals against average and fourth in save percentage (.915). Sibbald's two shutouts were also tied for third-best among SPHL netminders, while his 14 wins ranked fifth in the league.

SPHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners

2010-11 - Mark Sibbald, Huntsville Havoc

2009-10 - Bill Zaniboni, Mississippi Surge

2008-09 - Andrew Gallant, Knoxville Ice Bears

2007-08 - Tim Haun, Jacksonville Barracudas

2006-07 - Chad Rycroft, Columbus Cottonmouths

2005-06 - Terry Denike, Florida Seals

2004-05 - Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Rookie of the Year on Wednesday.

• Discuss this story on the Southern Professional Hockey League message board...

Southern Professional Hockey League Stories from March 29, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew