NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Defensive Back Brandon Stephens Named Arena Football League's Al Lucas Hero Award Winner

September 6, 2019 - Arena Football League (AFL) - Columbus Destroyers News Release

PHILADELPHIA, PA - The Arena Football League announced today that Columbus Destroyers defensive back Brandon Stephens has been named the Al Lucas Hero Award winner for the 2019 season.

The Al Lucas Hero Award is presented annually to the player who makes the most significant contribution to both his community and the game of Arena Football. The award was created in honor of Al Lucas, the late Los Angeles Avengers lineman to who believed in both giving back to his community and growing the AFL.

Stephens, a 5'11", 205 lb. native of Strongsville, Ohio, not only works tirelessly on the field but was beyond generous with his time off the field throughout the 2019 season. Brandon has been very active in getting out in the Columbus community, including making frequent visits to schools, day cares, summer camps, or youth football practices, where he speaks to kids and athletes about his experience in the world of professional football, how to be healthy and stay active, and the importance of excelling in school and earning an education.

Brandon has also graciously volunteered and spent quality time with kids at the Ronald McDonald House of Central Ohio and has helped serve food to the homeless at the Community Shelter Board in downtown Columbus.

In addition to all the aforementioned hard work that Brandon has put in, he has also participated in many other charitable events in downtown Columbus, where he has networked and served as a spokesman for not only the Destroyers, but for the Arena Football League as a whole.

Past Al Lucas Hero Award Winners

Year Player Team

2019 Brandon Stephens Columbus

2018 Tracy Belton Washington

2017 The Jason Foundation

2016 Collin Taylor Cleveland

2015 David Hyland San Jose

2014 J.J. Raterink Los Angeles

2013 Nick Davila Arizona

2012 John Dutton Cleveland

2011 Kenny McEntyre Orlando

2008 Mike Brown Philadelphia

2007 John Dutton Colorado

2006 Kenny McEntyre Orlando

2002 Chuck Winters Detroit

2001 James Baron Nashville

2000 Michael Baker Grand Rapids

1999 Latish Kinsler New Jersey

• Discuss this story on the Arena Football League message board...

Arena Football League Stories from September 6, 2019

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central