NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Boston Cannons Earn 2020 MLL Championship

July 26, 2020 - Major League Lacrosse (MLL) - Boston Cannons News Release

2020 MLL Champion Boston Cannons
2020 MLL Champion Boston Cannons
(Boston Cannons)

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - The Boston Cannons are the 2020 Major League Lacrosse champions.

In an unprecedented season, the Cannons will leave Annapolis with the MLL trophy after earning a 13-10 victory over the Denver Outlaws at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium.

The Cannons grabbed a quick 2-0 lead with goals from John Uppgren and Ben Spencer before Max Adler turned it on at the faceoff-X, allowing the Outlaws to score four straight from 9:34 to 8:09. Dan Bucaro scored a natural hat-trick in this span while John Grant Jr. picked up Denver's fourth. After an early lead, the Cannons already found themselves in a 4-2 hole. However, the Cannons ended the first quarter on a three-goal run with a goal from Mark Cockerton and two from Uppgren - giving him a first quarter hat-trick. Boston led 5-4 after 15 minutes.

In the second quarter, the Outlaws took their second lead of the day off a 2-pointer from Pat Aslanian with 9:40 left to play. Outlaws defenseman Kyle Pless stripped Cockerton in his defensive zone and rushed it up field before dishing to Aslanian for the goal. Cockerton redeemed himself about two minutes later on a relentless effort to make it 6-6 at 7:46. As the clock winded down in the second, the Cannons gained control of the ball late and were able to set up Justin Pugal for a 2-pointer, who beat the buzzer to give Boston an 8-6 lead at halftime.

The Cannons got off to a quick start in the third quarter with goals from Bryce Wasserman, Cockerton, and Uppgren to take an 11-6 lead. After that, Boston got another scare as the Outlaws rifled in three straight goals to pull it to 11-9. Momentum seemed to be turning, but the Cannons responded with tallies from Uppgren and Challen Rogers to make it 13-9. Chris Aslanian notched his third at 1:48 to make it 13-10.

After 23 goals were scored in the first three quarters, there were none in the final frame and just three shots on goal in total. Each team got their chances, but several Denver turnovers gave the Cannons some free possessions to drain the clock. Boston took the ball with under a minute to go and bled the clock dry to win it.

Images from this story

2020 MLL Champion Boston Cannons
2020 MLL Champion Boston Cannons


• Discuss this story on the Major League Lacrosse message board...

Major League Lacrosse Stories from July 26, 2020

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Boston Cannons Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central