NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Augusta's Brad Ralph Named SBK Coach of the Year

March 31, 2011 - Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) News Release

CHARLOTTE, NC - The Southern Professional Hockey League on Thursday announced that Brad Ralph of the Augusta RiverHawks has been selected as the SBK Coach of the Year in a vote of coaches and media representatives.

Columbus's Jerome Bechard finished second in the voting while Mississippi's Steffon Walby was third.

In his first season as a head coach, Ralph led Augusta to a 35-21 record and a second place finish in the standings. Under Ralph's leadership, the RiverHawks set a new SPHL record with 18 road wins, surpassing the previous record of 17 set by Jacksonville in the 2004-2005 season. Augusta's 11-game winning streak is also tied for second longest in SPHL history, one shy of Richmond's 12-game streak set in the 2007-2008.

SPHL Coach of the Year Award Winners

2010-11 - Brad Ralph, Augusta RiverHawks

2009-10 - Steffon Walby, Mississippi Surge

2008-09 - Scott Hillman, Knoxville Ice Bears

2007-08 - Rick Allain, Jacksonville Barracudas

2006-07 - John Marks, Fayetteville FireAntz

2005-06 - Jerome Bechard, Columbus Cottonmouths

2004-05 - Derek Booth, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Most Valuable Player on Friday.

• Discuss this story on the Southern Professional Hockey League message board...

Southern Professional Hockey League Stories from March 31, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew