Columbus\\" Ian Vigier Named SBK Goaltender of the Year

April 2, 2012 - Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL)

News Release

CHARLOTTE, NC - The Southern Professional Hockey League on Monday announced that Ian Vigier of the Columbus Cottonmouths has been selected as the SBK Goaltender of the Year in a vote of league coaches and media representatives.

Kiefer Smiley of the Mississippi Surge finished second in the voting.

Vigier led all SPHL goaltenders with 21 wins and a .914 save percentage. His 2.56 goals against average and two shutouts were second-best while he was third in both minutes played (1877:13) and saves (854).

SPHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners

2011-12 - Ian Vigier, Columbus Cottonmouths

2010-11 - Mark Sibbald, Huntsville Havoc

2009-10 - Bill Zaniboni, Mississippi Surge

2008-09 - Andrew Gallant, Knoxville Ice Bears

2007-08 - Tim Haun, Jacksonville Barracudas

2006-07 - Chad Rycroft, Columbus Cottonmouths

2005-06 - Terry Denike, Florida Seals

2004-05 - Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Coach of the Year on Tuesday.

• Discuss this story on the Southern Professional Hockey League message board