NFL, MLB, CFL stats



WPS Unveils 2010 Schedule

February 18, 2010 - Women's Professional Soccer (WPS) - Sky Blue FC News Release


Somerset, N.J. (Thursday, February 18, 2010) - Women's Professional Soccer (WPS) officially unveiled its 2010 schedule today, with the schedule being expanded four games from last year to a 24-match season. After winning the inaugural WPS Championship in 2009, Sky Blue FC will open its title defense on Sunday, April 11th, when the team hosts the Chicago Red Stars for a 6:00 p.m. kickoff at Yurcak Field on the campus of Rutgers University.

"Our coaches and players are extremely excited about the season," Sky Blue FC head coach Pauliina Miettinen commented. "The schedule just made the beginning look closer, and, to be honest, we cannot wait to be in action on the field."

Each WPS club will play a 24-game split of 12 home and 12 road matches, and WPS is also entering into the second year of a television partnership with Fox Soccer Channel. A few of the highlights already planned for Sky Blue FC include a celebration of its 2009 Championship at the April 11th home opener, and four-time FIFA Player of the Year Marta and FC Gold Pride will make two trips to New Jersey this year on May 1st and September 1st. Sky Blue FC will also be the road opponent of two stadium openings opposite FC Gold Pride on April 17th and the Atlanta Beat on May 9th.

"I wish our fans could see behind the scenes at how many charts, graphs, thoughts and plans go into creating a game schedule," Sky Blue FC General Manager Gerry Marrone stated. "But now that it is done, we look forward to focusing on each and every game with excitement and anticipation!"

For a limited time, Sky Blue FC is offering an exclusive season ticket package that gives fans the full slate of 12 home matches for the cost of ten games. To take advantage of the offer, call 1-888-SBFC-TIX.

DATE

OPPONENT

VENUE H/A ET TIME LOCAL TIME

Sunday, Apr 11* Chicago Red Stars NJ Home 6pm ET 6pm ET

Saturday, Apr 17 FC Gold Pride BAY Away 10pm ET 7pm PT

Sunday, Apr 25 Chicago Red Stars CHI Away 6pm ET 5pm CT

Saturday, May 1* FC Gold Pride NJ Home 6pm ET 6pm ET

Sunday, May 9* Atlanta Beat ATL Away 7pm ET 7pm ET

Sunday, May 16 Saint Louis Athletica STL Away 4pm ET 3pm CT

Saturday, May 29 Boston Breakers NJ Home 7pm ET 7pm ET

Sunday, Jun 6 Philadelphia Independence PHL Away 6pm ET 6pm ET

Sunday, Jun 13 Boston Breakers BOS Away 4pm ET 4pm ET

Saturday, Jun 19 Philadelphia Independence NJ Home 7pm ET 7pm ET

Sunday, Jul 4 Washington Freedom WSH Away 6pm ET 6pm ET

Wednesday, Jul 7 Saint Louis Athletica NJ Home 7pm ET 7pm ET

Sunday, Jul 11* FC Gold Pride BAY Away 6pm ET 3pm PT

Sunday, Jul 18 Atlanta Beat NJ Home 7pm ET 7pm ET

Saturday, Jul 24 Philadelphia Independence PHL Away 6pm ET 6pm ET

Wednesday, Jul 28 Saint Louis Athletica NJ Home 7pm ET 7pm ET

Sunday, Aug 1 Chicago Red Stars NJ Home 7pm ET 7pm ET

Wednesday, Aug 11 Washington Freedom NJ Home 7pm ET 7pm ET

Sunday, Aug 15* Boston Breakers BOS Away 6pm ET 6pm ET

Sunday, Aug 22 Philadelphia Independence NJ Home 4pm ET 4pm ET

Saturday, Aug 28 Washington Freedom WSH Away 7pm ET 7pm ET

Wednesday, Sep 1 FC Gold Pride NJ Home 7pm ET 7pm ET

Sunday, Sep 5* Atlanta Beat ATL Away TBD TBD

Saturday, Sep 11 Boston Breakers NJ Home 7pm ET 7pm ET

* Game will air on Fox Soccer Channel


• Discuss this story on the Women's Professional Soccer message board...

Women's Professional Soccer Stories from February 18, 2010


The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central