NFL, MLB, CFL stats



WPS Releases 2010 Season Schedule

February 18, 2010 - Women's Professional Soccer (WPS) News Release


SAN FRANCISCO, CA (February 18, 2010) - Women's Professional Soccer unveiled its 2010 WPS season schedule on Thursday along with Fox Soccer Channel's WPS Sunday on FSC nationally-televised broadcast schedule.

In 2010, WPS will expand to a 24-game regular season schedule in which each of the eight WPS teams will host 12 home games and play the other seven teams in the league three or four times each based mostly on regional rivalries. Opening weekend will include a full slate of four games on April 10-11 - the first time four WPS games will be played on one weekend - with a regular season of 96 total games running through Sunday, September 12. WPS will take a break on the weekend of May 22 for national team commitments and 2011 FIFA Women's World Cup qualifying games. Games are mostly featured on Saturday and Sunday evenings with 12 midweek games scheduled on Wednesday nights starting in early June.

The national television schedule on Fox Soccer Channel will kick off at 6pm ET on Sunday, April 11 with 2009 WPS Champion Sky Blue FC taking on the Chicago Red Stars at Yurcak Field in Piscataway, N.J. All eight WPS teams will be shown during the first month of the season and seven of the eight WPS venues will be featured on television in the first nine weeks of the regular season. Other television highlights for WPS Sunday on FSC include:

Four-time FIFA World Player of the Year, Marta, debuting with her new team, FC Gold Pride (Bay Area), during a special Saturday, May 1 timeslot at 6pm ET against Sky Blue FC. The national television debut of WPS expansion team Philadelphia Independence, as they travel to Boston to take on the Boston Breakers at 6pm ET on April 18. The opening of the first-ever stadium built specifically for a WPS team with the Atlanta Beat hosting Sky Blue FC on Sunday, May 9 in their home opener. San Francisco Bay Area's FC Gold Pride hosting their first national television game at Pioneer Stadium on the campus of California State University, East Bay on June 27. A new mid-season WPS All-Star Game presented by U.S. Coast Guard on June 30. Open dates on September 5 and 12 will be flex television games in order to broadcast match-ups with playoff implications.

The WPS Playoffs will follow the same format used during the WPS Inaugural Season with the No. 3 seed hosting the No. 4 on Sunday, September 19 at 2pm ET/11am PT in the WPS First Round featured nationally on Fox Sports Net. The No. 2 seed will host the winner of the WPS First Round on September 22/23 in the WPS Super Semifinal on Fox Soccer Channel. As the No. 1 seed, the winner of the regular season will play host to the winner of the Super Semifinal in the 2010 WPS Championship on September 26 at 2pm ET/11am PT, broadcast nationally on Fox Sports Net. Seedings will be based on the final 2010 WPS Regular Season standings in a single, eight-team table.

2010 WPS Season Schedule

Subject to change // home team listed first // all kick-off times listed in EST// Fox Soccer Channel (FSC) and Fox Sports Net (FSN)

Week 1

Saturday, April 10

Washington Freedom vs Boston Breakers 7pm

Sunday, April 11

Saint Louis Athletica vs FC Gold Pride 4pm

Philadelphia Independence vs Atlanta Beat 6pm

Sky Blue FC vs Chicago Red Stars 6pm (FSC)

Week 2

Saturday, April 17

Chicago Red Stars vs Saint Louis Athletica 8pm

FC Gold Pride vs Sky Blue FC 10pm

Sunday, April 18

Washington Freedom vs Atlanta Beat 4pm

Boston Breakers vs Philadelphia Independence 6pm (FSC)

Week 3

Saturday, April 24

FC Gold Pride vs Atlanta Beat 10pm

Sunday, April 25

Philadelphia Independence vs Washington Freedom 6pm

Saint Louis Athletica vs Boston Breakers 6pm (FSC)

Chicago Red Stars vs Sky Blue FC 6pm

Week 4Saturday, May 1

Boston Breakers vs Chicago Red Stars 6pm

Sky Blue FC vs FC Gold Pride 6pm (FSC)

Philadelphia Independence vs Atlanta Beat 6pm

Washington Freedom vs Saint Louis Athletica TBD

Week 5

Saturday, May 8

Washington Freedom vs Boston Breakers 7pm

Saint Louis Athletica vs Philadelphia Independence 8:10pm

FC Gold Pride vs Chicago Red Stars 10pm

Sunday, May 9Atlanta Beat vs Sky Blue FC 7pm (FSC)

Week 6

Friday, May 14

Boston Breakers vs FC Gold Pride 7:30pm

Saturday, May 15

Chicago Red Stars vs Philadelphia Independence 7pm

Sunday, May 16

Saint Louis Athletica vs Sky Blue FC 4pm

Atlanta Beat vs Washington Freedom 6pm (FSC)

Week 7

Saturday, May 29

Atlanta Beat vs Saint Louis Athletica 7pm

Sky Blue FC vs Boston Breakers 7pm

Chicago Red Stars vs FC Gold Pride 8pm

Sunday, May 30

Washington Freedom vs Philadelphia Independence 6pm (FSC)

Week 8

Saturday, June 5

Boston Breakers vs Saint Louis Athletica 6pm

FC Gold Pride vs Washington Freedom 10pm

Sunday, June 6

Philadelphia Independence vs Sky Blue FC 6pm

Chicago Red Stars vs Atlanta Beat 6pm (FSC)

Week 9

Wednesday, June 9

Saint Louis Athletica vs FC Gold Pride 8:10pm

Saturday, June 12

Saint Louis Athletica vs Atlanta Beat 5:45pm

Washington Freedom vs Chicago Red Stars 7pm

Sunday, June 13

Boston Breakers vs Sky Blue FC 4pm

Philadelphia Independence vs FC Gold Pride 6pm (FSC)

Week 10

Saturday, June 19

Sky Blue FC vs Philadelphia Independence 7pm

Atlanta Beat vs Chicago Red Stars 7pm

FC Gold Pride vs Boston Breakers 10pm

Sunday, June 20

Saint Louis Athletica vs Washington Freedom 6pm (FSC)

Week 11

Wednesday, June 23

Atlanta Beat vs Philadelphia Independence 7:30pm

Friday, June 25

Boston Breakers vs Chicago Red Stars 7:30pm

Saturday, June 26

Philadelphia Independence vs Washington Freedom 6pm

Sunday, June 27

FC Gold Pride vs Saint Louis Athletica 6pm (FSC)

WPS All-Star Game presented by U.S. Coast Guard

Wednesday, June 30 TBD (FSC)

Week 12

Saturday, July 3

Atlanta Beat vs FC Gold Pride 7pm

Sunday, July 4

Philadelphia Independence vs Boston Breakers 4pm

Washington Freedom vs Sky Blue FC 6pm

Week 13

Wednesday, July 7Sky Blue FC vs Saint Louis Athletica 7pm

Chicago Red Stars vs Washington Freedom 8:30pm

Saturday, July 10

Chicago Red Stars vs Philadelphia Independence 7pm

Washington Freedom vs Saint Louis Athletica 7pm

Sunday, July 11

Boston Breakers vs Atlanta Beat 4pm

FC Gold Pride vs Sky Blue FC 6pm (FSC)

Week 14

Saturday, July 17

FC Gold Pride vs Philadelphia Independence 10pm

Sunday, July 18

Boston Breakers vs Washington Freedom 5pm (FSC)

Sky Blue FC vs Atlanta Beat 7pm

Saint Louis Athletica vs Chicago Red Stars 8:10pm

Week 15

Wednesday, July 21

Boston Breakers vs FC Gold Pride 7pm

Atlanta Beat vs Chicago Red Stars 7:30pm

Saturday, July 24

Philadelphia Independence vs Sky Blue FC 6pm

Washington Freedom vs FC Gold Pride 7pm

Saint Louis Athletica vs Atlanta Beat 8:10pm

Sunday, July 25

Chicago Red Stars vs Boston Breakers 4pm

Week 16

Wednesday, July 28

Sky Blue FC vs Saint Louis Athletica 7pm

Saturday, July 31

Boston Breakers vs Philadelphia Independence 6pm

Sunday, Aug. 1

Atlanta Beat vs Washington Freedom 5pm (FSC)

Sky Blue FC vs Chicago Red Stars 7pm

Week 17

Wednesday, Aug. 4

Washington Freedom vs Philadelphia Independence 7:30pm

Saturday, Aug. 7

Atlanta Beat vs Boston Breakers 7pm

FC Gold Pride vs Chicago Red Stars 10pm

Sunday, Aug. 8

Philadelphia Independence vs Saint Louis Athletica 7:30pm (FSC)

Week 18

Wednesday, Aug. 11

Sky Blue FC vs Washington Freedom 7pm

Saint Louis Athletica vs Boston Breakers 8:10pm

Chicago Red Stars vs Atlanta Beat 8:30pm

Saturday, Aug. 14

Atlanta Beat vs Saint Louis Athletica 7pm

FC Gold Pride vs Washington Freedom 10pm

Sunday, Aug. 15

Philadelphia Independence vs Chicago Red Stars 6pm

Boston Breakers vs Sky Blue FC 6pm (FSC)

Week 19

Saturday, Aug. 21

Boston Breakers vs Atlanta Beat TBD

Sunday, Aug. 22

Sky Blue FC vs Philadelphia Independence 4pm

Saint Louis Athletica vs Washington Freedom 4pm

Chicago Red Stars vs FC Gold Pride 6pm (FSC)

Week 20

Saturday, Aug. 28

Atlanta Beat vs FC Gold Pride 7pm

Washington Freedom vs Sky Blue FC 7pm

Saint Louis Athletica vs Chicago Red Stars 8:10pm

Sunday, Aug. 29

Philadelphia Independence vs Boston Breakers 6pm (FSC)

Week 21

Wednesday, Sept. 1

Sky Blue FC vs FC Gold Pride 7pm

Sunday, Sept. 5 (FSC Flex TV Date)

Atlanta Beat vs Sky Blue FC TBD

FC Gold Pride vs Boston Breakers TBD

Chicago Red Stars vs Washington Freedom TBD

Philadelphia Independence vs Saint Louis Athletica 6pm

Week 22

Saturday, Sept. 11

FC Gold Pride vs Philadelphia Independence TBD

Chicago Red Stars vs Saint Louis Athletica 7pm

Sky Blue FC vs Boston Breakers 7pm

Sunday, Sept. 12 (FSC Flex TV Date)

Washington Freedom vs Atlanta Beat TBD

• Discuss this story on the Women's Professional Soccer message board...

Women's Professional Soccer Stories from February 18, 2010


The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.


Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central