NFL, NBA, NHL stats

WBA announces 2007 teams

April 29, 2007 - World Basketball Association (WBA) News Release

Atlanta, GA - The WBA corporate headquarters was the site of the league's ownership committee on Friday. League officials have confirmed the great 8 of minor league basketball franchises in the South with the announcement of inclusion in the 2007 WBA season of:

** Georgia Warriors - Marietta, GA

** Rome Gladiators - Rome, GA

** Team Ravia - Gwinnett, GA

** Atlanta HardHats - Atlanta, GA

** Wilson Hardhats - Wilson, NC

** Mississippi Miracles - Cleveland, MS

** Mayas-USA - Longview, TX

** Texas Tycoons - Dallas, TX

The 2007 World Basketball Association regular season begins May 4th with three games on the schedule as the Texas Tycoons host the Mississippi Miracles, Mayas-USA (Longview) hosts Atlanta HardHats and the Georgia Warriors host the Rome Gladiators . The WBA playoffs are played on July 6th and July 7th this season with the WBA Championship game played July 8th. Annually multiple players proceed from the WBA regular season on to the NBA summer leagues opportunities after the season. The States of Georgia, North Carolina, Mississippi, and Texas are strongly represented in the World Basketball Association. In addition to the South, the WBA has expansion plans for the mid-west in 2008. "The WBA is One Step away from the NBA" or email

• Discuss this story on the World Basketball Association message board...

World Basketball Association Stories from April 29, 2007

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew