NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Surge Head Coach Walby Wins Coach Of The Year Award

March 30, 2010 - Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) - Mississippi Surge News Release

CHARLOTTE, NC - The Southern Professional Hockey League on Tuesday announced that Steffon Walby of the Mississippi Surge has been selected as the SPHL Coach of the Year in a vote of coaches and media representatives.

Pensacola's Todd Gordon finished second in the voting while Louisiana's Dave MacIsaac was third.

"I'm humbled and honored to be selected for this award by my fellow coaches," said Walby. "The guys I really need to thank are the guys that wore the Surge jerseys this year, because they bought into the system, came here to learn, and together we were successful as a team."

Walby, who previously coached the ECHL's Mississippi Sea Wolves for two seasons, led the expansion Surge to a 34-14-8 record in capturing the William B. Coffey Trophy as regular season champions.

The Surge open the 2010 President's Cup Playoffs at home on Friday night at 7:30 p.m. against the Columbus Cottonmouths. All seats are just $10 and can be purchased at the box office or by calling (228) 287-PUCK!

SPHL Coach of the Year Award Winners

2009-10 - Steffon Walby, Mississippi Surge

2008-09 - Scott Hillman, Knoxville Ice Bears

2007-08 - Rick Allain, Jacksonville Barracudas

2006-07 - John Marks, Fayetteville FireAntz

2005-06 - Jerome Bechard, Columbus Cottonmouths

2004-05 - Derek Booth, Fayetteville FireAntz

• Discuss this story on the Southern Professional Hockey League message board...

Southern Professional Hockey League Stories from March 30, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Mississippi Surge Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew