NFL, NBA, NHL stats

SPHL Announces 2018-2019 Playoff Format

September 12, 2018 - Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) News Release

HUNTERSVILLE, NC - The Southern Professional Hockey League announced on Wednesday the 2018-2019 playoff format, which includes the return of last season's exciting Challenge Round.


The top eight (8) finishers in the league standings will make the playoffs:


On Sunday, April 7, the League Office will conduct a Challenge Round Selection event. For the Challenge Round, the top three teams will have the opportunity to select their first round opponent from the teams seeded 5-8. The #1 seed will select their Challenge Round opponent first. The #2 seed will then select their opponent from the remaining three teams, after which the #3 seed will select from the remaining two teams. The #4 seed will play the team that was not previously selected. All series are best-of-three.


The four teams that advance from the Challenge Round will play each other based on original playoff seeding, with the highest-seeded team playing the lowest and the remaining teams playing each other.

Both series are best-of-three.


The two remaining teams will meet in the best-of-three President's Cup Final. Teams have the option, upon mutual agreement, to play a best-of-five President's Cup Final series.

• Discuss this story on the Southern Professional Hockey League message board...

Southern Professional Hockey League Stories from September 12, 2018

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew