NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Seattle's Sue Bird, San Antonio's Ruth Riley Win WNBA's 2011 Kim Perrot Award

September 18, 2011 - Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA) News Release

NEW YORK, Sept. 18 2011 - Seattle Storm guard Sue Bird and San Antonio Silver Stars forward-center Ruth Riley were named the recipients of the 2011 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award, the WNBA announced today. The first-time winners of Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award each received eight of 39 votes from a panel of national and local sportswriters and broadcasters. Minnesota Lynx guard-forward Seimone Augustus finished third with five votes.

Designed to honor a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court - ethical behavior, fair play and integrity - the award is named for the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to their first two WNBA championships before passing away in August, 1999, after a seven-month battle with cancer.

In her 10th season in the WNBA, Bird, one of the Top 15 Players in WNBA History, has become the face of the Seattle Storm. Bird, however, is a presence in the Seattle community as well, as she is engaged in countless community events and speaking engagements.

"There is no question Sue's play and presence and her ability to lead impacts the success of the Seattle Storm," said Coach Brian Agler. "She is as quality a person as there is in the League. Sue is respected by all the coaches, all the players and all the fans throughout the country. She is as steady and reliable as they come. It's a testament to her reputation that Sue is being honored with the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award."

Riley has been actively involved volunteering with a number of organizations on both a national and local level. She has served as the spokesperson for the Nothing But Nets campaign. She also spent time during the season visiting numerous camps and clinics throughout San Antonio as well as visiting the Christus Santa Rosa children's hospital.

"Ruth Riley's work on a daily basis makes her team, community and world a better place to be," said Coach Dan Hughes. "We are thrilled that she is being recognized for her incredible contributions on and off the court."

In honor of being named the Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award co-winners, Bird and Riley will wach receive $5,000 and a specially-designed trophy from Tiffany & Co. An additional $5,000 will be designated to the charity of her choice.

Below are the voting results of the 2011 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award and a list of past recipients.


8 Sue Bird Seattle Storm

8 Ruth Riley San Antonio Silver Stars

5 Seimone Augustus Minnesota Lynx

4 Kayla Pedersen Tulsa Shock

3 Tammy Sulton-Brown Indiana Fever

2 Asjha Jones Connecticut Sun

2 Leilani Mitchell New York Liberty

2 Armintie Price Atlanta Dream

2 Tamera Young Chicago Sky

1 DeWanna Bonner Phoenix Mercury

1 Crystal Langhorne Washington Mystics

1 Jenna O'Hea Los Angeles Sparks


2011 Sue Bird Seattle Storm

Ruth Riley San Antonio Silver Stars

2010 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever

2009 Kara Lawson Sacramento Monarchs

2008 Vickie Johnson San Antonio Silver Stars

2007 Tully Bevilaqua Indiana Fever

2006 Dawn Staley Houston Comets

2005 Taj McWilliams-Franklin Connecticut Sun

2004 Teresa Edwards Minnesota Lynx

2003 Edna Campbell Sacramento Monarchs

2002 Jennifer Gillom Phoenix Mercury

2001 Sue Wicks New York Liberty

2000 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers

1999 Dawn Staley Charlotte Sting

1998 Suzie McConnell Serio Cleveland Rockers

1997 Haixia Zheng Los Angeles Sparks

• Discuss this story on the Women's National Basketball Association message board...

Women's National Basketball Association Stories from September 18, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew