Looking for stats?

San Jose Earthquakes Forward Chris Wondolowski Wins 2012 Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player Award

November 29, 2012 - Major League Soccer (MLS) News Release

NEW YORK (November 29, 2012) - Major League Soccer today announced that San Jose Earthquakes forward Chris Wondolowski was voted the Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player for the 2012 season.

Today at approximately 4 p.m. ET, Wondolowski will receive the award and be presented to media in the Los Angeles area covering MLS Cup 2012 at The Home Depot Center.

Wondolowski's 27 goals this season tied the League's all-time single-season goal record and won him a second Budweiser Golden Boot award. He also became the only player in MLS history to score the most regular season goals in three consecutive seasons. His consistency throughout the season earned him four MLS Player of the Month awards, a feat unrivaled through the sixteen MLS seasons.

The California native led the Earthquakes to their second Supporters' Shield title in club history, just a year removed from finishing 14th overall in the League.

Since entering MLS in 2005, Wondolowski has recorded a total of 68 league goals, 64 of which came after moving from Houston to San Jose in the middle of the 2009 season. He ranks twentieth all-time in MLS goal scoring, two behind Cobi Jones.

The award was voted on by media, MLS players and MLS club management based on regular season performance. The other two finalists were Sporting Kansas City midfielder Graham Zusi and New York Red Bulls forward Thierry Henry. Below is a breakdown of the voting for the top four candidates:

Player (Club) % of Club Votes % of Media Votes % of Player Votes Weighted Total

Chris Wondolowski (SJ) 91.23 96.97 70.83 259.03

Thierry Henry (NY) 0 3.03 11.46 14.49

Graham Zusi (SKC) 3.51 0 3.13 6.64

Brad Davis (HOU) 3.51 0 0 3.51

All-Time MLS Most Valuable Players:

2012: Chris Wondolowski - San Jose Earthquakes

2011: Dwayne De Rosario - D.C. United

2010: David Ferreira - FC Dallas

2009: Landon Donovan - LA Galaxy

2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto - Columbus Crew

2007: Luciano Emilio - D.C. United

2006: Christian GÃ"mez - D.C. United

2005: Taylor Twellman - New England Revolution

2004: Amado Guevara - MetroStars

2003: Preki - Kansas City Wizards

2002: Carlos Ruiz - LA Galaxy

2001: Alex Pineda ChacÃ"n - Miami Fusion

2000: Tony Meola - Kansas City Wizards

1999: Jason Kreis - Dallas Burn

1998: Marco Etcheverry - D.C. United

1997: Preki - Kansas City Wizards

1996: Carlos Valderrama - Tampa Bay Mutiny

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 29, 2012

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.