NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Orlando's Jay Taylor named AFL's Kicker of the Year

June 7, 2004 - Arena Football League (1987-2008) (AFL I) News Release

NEW YORK – Orlando Predators K JAY TAYLOR (6-1, 196, West Virginia) was selected the 2004 Kicker of the Year as voted by the AFL head coaches, players, fans and Arena Football League Writers Association (AFLWA). Taylor earned All-Rookie and First-Team All-Arena honors last week.

The former Mountaineer tallied 133 points while connecting on 18-of-25 (72.0 percent) field goal attempts and converted 79-of-85 (92.9 percent) extra point attempts. Taylor set an all-time league-mark by connecting on 10 consecutive field goals during April and had a long of 50 yards this season.

Other players receiving votes included: Colorado’s ANTHONY BRENNER, Indiana’ s CLAY RUSH and Los Angeles’ REMY HAMILTON.

The Lineman of the Year will be announced on Tuesday, June 8 on ESPNews, while Rookie of the Year (Wednesday) and Coach of the Year (Thursday) honors will be announced later this week. The following is the complete list of the Kicker of the Year award winners:

2003 Clay Rush, Indiana Firebirds
2002 Steve Videtich, New Jersey Gladiators
2001 Brian Gowins, Grand Rapids Rampage
2000 Clay Rush, Iowa Barnstormers
1999 Mike Black, New England SeaWolves
1998 Kenny Stucker, Milwaukee Mustangs
1997 Steve Videtich, New Jersey Red Dogs
1996 Pete Elezovic, Albany Firebirds
1991 Rusty Fricke, Denver Dynamite
Novo Bojovic, Detroit Drive * No award issued from 1992-95.

About Arena Football

Often recognized as one of the nation's most affordable and fan-friendly sports leagues, the Arena Football League is in the heart of its Drive to ArenaBowl XVIII. The playoffs begin on May 24 with all games, including ArenaBowl XVIII on June 27, being televised by NBC.

• Discuss this story on the Arena Football League (1987-2008) message board...

Arena Football League (1987-2008) Stories from June 7, 2004

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew