Looking for stats?

NWSL Supplemental Draft to Commence at Noon ET on Thursday, February 7

February 7, 2013 - National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) News Release

CHICAGO (Feb. 7, 2013) - The National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) Supplemental Draft will take place on Feb. 7 at Noon ET. The Supplemental Draft will consist of six rounds and will take place via conference call with representatives of all eight clubs making their selections that will be released as they happen via Twitter @NWSL.

Each of the eight NWSL clubs has submitted a list of 8-10 players who will be eligible for the Supplemental Draft. Both domestic and international players are eligible for the Supplemental Draft, but each team is allowed two international players in addition to those that were allocated.

The Supplemental Draft order is as follows:

1) Washington Spirit

2) Seattle Reign FC

3) Boston Breakers

4) Chicago Red Stars

5) Sky Blue FC

6) FC Kansas City

7) Western New York

8) Portland Thorns FC

After the Supplemental Draft, clubs may claim up to four Discovery Players, securing the rights to sign those players heading into preseason training camps. Discovery Players may be either international or domestic. Players who were eligible for but not selected in the Supplemental Draft may be claimed as Discovery Players. The rights to Discovery Players will be allocated to a team on a "date of submission priority" basis. If two teams submit the same player, the team that submitted the player first will have the opportunity to sign that player.

Players who were not on the submitted lists of the NWSL clubs are not eligible for the Supplemental Draft, but may be claimed as Discovery Players following the draft. Teams will be allowed to carry 18-20 players on their regular season rosters.

The NWSL is an eight-team league organized and administered by the U.S. Soccer Federation that will begin play in the spring of 2013. U.S. Soccer is subsidizing the salaries of the 23 American players, while the Canadian Soccer Association and the Federation of Mexican Football will each do the same for 16 players. The eight founding clubs are the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC (New York/New Jersey), the Washington Spirit and the Western New York Flash.

NWSL Roster-Building Process

Jan. 9 USA, Canada and Mexico National Team Players are allocated to clubs

Jan. 18 NWSL College Draft

Jan. 18-31 Clubs can sign up to four additional players*

Feb. 1 Clubs submit up to 8-10 players for Supplemental Draft

Feb. 7 NWSL Supplemental Draft

Feb. 8 Discovery Players can be signed

*Western New York, Chicago, Seattle and Washington are allowed to sign up to five players

• Discuss this story on the National Women's Soccer League message board...

National Women's Soccer League Stories from February 7, 2013

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.