NFL, NBA, NHL stats

NBL Canada Announces Inaugural Awards

March 14, 2012 - National Basketball League of Canada (NBL Canada) News Release

(TORONTO, ON) The National Basketball League of Canada is pleased to announce the lineup of awards for its inaugural season and that London Lightning's Gabe Freeman has been chosen as the Rogers Communications Inc. Most Valuable Player.

"We're pleased with the success of the League's inaugural season on and off the court," said John Kennedy, NBL Canada Commissioner. "These awards are an opportunity to celebrate League executives and players, like Mr. Freeman, who have stepped up to the plate to make the 2011-12 season one that we can all be proud of."

Freeman, a 6'7", 215-pound small forward from Costa Mesa (Calif.) Jr. College, was named NBL Canada Player of the Week three times and leads the League in rebounds with a season total of 425 rebounds, 12.5rpg. Freeman is also the League's third leading scorer with a season total of 627 points, 17.9ppg.

"It feels great to be named MVP. I feel like I put in a lot of hard work this season and it paid off," said Freeman. "I'm surrounded by a great coach, great players and teammates. I couldn't have asked for anything better. I reached my goal but now I want to win a championship."

Freeman was also selected for the First Team All-NBL and First Team All-Defence.

"I think it was well deserved. He has been an unstoppable threat on the court this season and goes into every game and practice ready to contribute and work hard. He earned and deserves it," said London Lightning Head Coach Micheal Ray Richardson.

First Team All-NBL Canada includes Saint John's Anthony Anderson, London's Gabe Freeman, Quebec's Ralphy Holmes, Summerside's Mike Williams and Halifax's Lawrence Wright.

Second Team All-NBL Canada includes London's Tim Ellis, Oshawa's Omari Johnson, Moncton's Trayvon Lathan, Halifax's Tyrone Levett and Oshawa's Brandon Robinson.

First team All-Defence includes Summerside's Al Stewart, London's Gabe Freeman, Quebec's James 'Boo' Jackson, Halifax's Tyrone Levett and Summerside's Mike Williams.

Second Team All-Defence includes Moncton's Boubacar Coly, London's DeAnthony Bowden, Halifax's Joey Haywood, Quebec's Ralphy Holmes and Moncton's Sylvania Watkins.

Including the aforementioned awards, the League will present a total of nine player awards and three playoff-based awards all voted on by the seven head coaches.

The League will also present two business awards, the Ian Fowler Executive of the Year, selected by the Commissioner and New Franchise of the Year, selected by the President & CEO and Chief Operating Officer. A full list of awards can be found below.

All NBL Canada awards will be handed out at the All-Star Breakfast on April 1 in Halifax. Tickets for the event can be purchased through the Rainmen head office. Contact Paul Fruitman at 902-444-7246 x 26 or . Media looking to cover the event can contact Jillian Blackman at

For more information on the League's inaugural All-Star weekend, presented by Rogers Communications Inc., visit

• Discuss this story on the National Basketball League of Canada message board...

National Basketball League of Canada Stories from March 14, 2012

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew