NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Mississippi's Steve Weidlich Named Defenseman of the Year

March 31, 2010 - Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) News Release

CHARLOTTE, NC - The Southern Professional Hockey League on Wednesday announced that Steve Weidlich of the Mississippi Surge has been selected as the SPHL Defenseman of the Year in a vote of league coaches and media representatives.

Knoxville's Mark Van Vliet and Huntsville's Jeff White finished tied for second in the voting.

Weidlich led all defensemen with 42 points, 36 assists and 26 power-play assists. In seven seasons with the Laredo Bucks, Weidlich won two Central Hockey League championships (2004, 2006), five consecutive division titles (2004-08), made four appearances in the Ray Miron President's Cup finals (2005-08) and advanced to the second round of the playoffs seven times.

SPHL Defenseman of the Year Award Winners

2009-10 - Steve Weidlich, Mississippi Surge

2008-09 - Kevin Harris, Knoxville Ice Bears

2007-08 - Dan Vandermeer, Richmond Renegades

2006-07 - Brian Goudie, Richmond Renegades

2005-06 - Mike Clarke, Fayetteville FireAntz

2004-05 - Curtis Menzul, Knoxville Ice Bears

The SPHL will announce its Goaltender of the Year on Thursday.

• Discuss this story on the Southern Professional Hockey League message board...

Southern Professional Hockey League Stories from March 31, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew