NFL, NBA, NHL stats

MISL Regular Season Honors Announced

March 4, 2013 - Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL) News Release

TAMPA, Fla. - A record-setting season by the Rochester Lancers' Doug Miller highlighted the announcement of the Major Indoor Soccer League's 2012-13 regular season honors Monday, ahead of the start of the MISL Playoffs. Miller was joined by the Wichita Wings' Tiguinho and Milwaukee Wave's Nick Vorberg, who also earned rewards for their standout seasons.

Miller set a current-era record with 102 points and 44 goals for the Lancers this season, claiming both the Scoring and Goal Scoring titles. The 43-year-old put in a number of remarkable performances, breaking Geison's record of 90 points comfortably as he scored a goal in 21 of his 25 games this season. Miller's season was highlighted by a six-goal game against the Missouri Comets on December 1, 2012 in a 24-17 victory for the Lancers.

Tiguinho claimed the league's assists award, edging out the Missouri Comets' Vahid Assadpour with a pair of assists in the Wings' final game of the regular season to give him 28 for the season. The midfielder was held without a point in only four contests for the Wings, recording three assists in a game four times during the season.

Milwaukee's Vorberg led all goalkeepers with a 7.76 points-against average, a career-best for the veteran. Vorberg also led the league with a .815 save percentage, conceding only 48 goals in 14 games to edge the Baltimore Blast's William Vanzela by just less than a point to claim the crown.

Vorberg and the Wave will face the Missouri Comets in the semifinals of the MISL Playoffs this week, with the series kicking off on Thursday night at Missouri's Independence Events Center (8:35 p.m. ET, Game 2 of the series is set for Sunday afternoon at Milwaukee's U.S. Cellular Arena (4 p.m. ET,

The regular-season champion Baltimore Blast face the Chicago Soul in the other semifinal, with Game 1 set for the Chicago Odeum on Tuesday night (8:30 p.m. ET, The series then returns to Baltimore's 1st Mariner Arena on Saturday night for Game 2 (7:35 p.m. ET, MISLNation).

The 2012-13 MISL Award Winners, including MVP, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, the All-Rookie Team and All-MISL Teams will be announced prior to the 2012-13 MISL Championship Series.

MISL 2012-13 Regular Season Honors

Scoring Champion

Doug Miller, Rochester

Goal Scoring Champion

Doug Miller, Rochester

Assist Champion

Tiguinho, Wichita Wings

PAA Champion

Nick Vorberg, Milwaukee Wave

• Discuss this story on the Major Indoor Soccer League message board...

Major Indoor Soccer League Stories from March 4, 2013

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew