NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Mavericks Sweep ABA Awards

April 5, 2011 - American Basketball Association (ABA) - Southeast Texas Mavericks News Release

The Southeast Texas Mavericks dominated the ABA Post-Season Awards just like they dominated opponents during this past 2010-11 season.

The Mavericks captured every major award given out by the ABA League Office.

Coach Steve Tucker was chosen as the ABA National Coach of the Year for the 3rd straight season. Tucker is the only coach to win this award for 3 straight seasons

Odell Bradley won the ABA League MVP award. Bradley averaged 16.3 ppg while pulling down 5.1 rpg. A Mavericks player has won the MVP award for the 3rd straight season. Josh Pace and DeRon Rutledge won this award previously.

PJ Cousinard was chosen MVP of the ABA Championship Finals. Bradley and Desmond Cambridge were also on the All-Finals team.

Mavericks Owner Jerry Nelson was tabbed Executive of the Year for the 2nd time in 3 seasons. Nelson built Nutty Jerry's Entertainment Center, which is the home of the SETX Mavericks.

The SETX Mavericks was selected as the Team of the Year. The Mavs compiled a 35-1 record while winning Back to Back Championships. The Mavericks finished the season on a 26 game winning streak and with a 39 game home court Winning streak.

For more information about the SETX Mavericks go to www.nuttyjerrys.Com or

Note: OurSports Central no longer actively covers the American Basketball Association (ABA) as a professional league due in part to its inability to publish and play a schedule and the transitory nature of many of its teams. For information on professional minor leagues, please see OSC's basketball section.

• Discuss this story on the American Basketball Association message board...

American Basketball Association Stories from April 5, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Southeast Texas Mavericks Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central