NFL, NBA, NHL stats



It's The Return Of The Champions To Channel 55 With Expanded Lineup In 2008

March 17, 2008 - Major League Soccer (MLS) - Houston Dynamo News Release

HOUSTON, TX -- The Houston Dynamo and KTBU Channel 55 announce the continuation of their broadcast partnership, along with the 2008 television schedule.

For a second-straight year, the Dynamo will call Channel 55 its home for local English language telecasts. Channel 55 will air 17 regular season matches in 2008, a weekly magazine show called the "Dynamo Soccer Report with Glenn Davis" and a special series known as "Countdown to Kickoff - Ten Greatest Dynamo Games."

"We look forward to another successful year with Channel 55," said Dynamo Chief Operating Officer Chris Canetti. "We are excited about growing this partnership and building quality soccer programming. Dynamo fans can expect major league production standards and an entertaining product."

"Channel 55 is pleased to continue our great relationship with the back-to-back champions," said Channel 55 General Manager Matt Reiff. "The Dynamo is the anchor to channel 55's commitment to bring Houston local sports and informational programs. We look forward to the launch of our new website in April with a very interactive Dynamo page and presence. It's all about the Orange."

The 17 games are highlighted by three Wednesday night primetime matches (May 28 at FC Dallas - 7:30 p.m., June 4 at DC United - 6:30 p.m. and August 20 vs. Chivas USA - 8:00 p.m.).

Other great games include the Dynamo home opener vs. FC Dallas on Sunday April 6th (1:30 p.m.), the LA Galaxy on Saturday, April 19th (9:00 pm.) and Saturday, October 18th (7:00 p.m.), and the Chicago Fire on Saturday, May 17th (7:00 p.m.) and Sunday, August 31st (5:30 p.m.).

Charlie Pallilo will return as the play-by-play announcer while Glenn Davis will serve as color analyst for selected games.

All games will kickoff with the 30-minute Infinity Insurance Pre-Game Report and conclude with a post-game wrap-up show.

The Dynamo Soccer Report with Glenn Davis will move to primetime in 2008. This year, the show will air on Fridays at 9:30 p.m. The 30-minute magazine show, hosted by Glenn Davis, will feature in-depth coverage of the Dynamo while covering international soccer and local soccer. It will debut on Friday, March 28 and run throughout the Dynamo season.

The 2008 broadcast season will get underway with series known as "Countdown to Kickoff - Ten Greatest Dynamo Games." This series will feature the 10 greatest Dynamo games of all-time. The 10 shows will air Monday, March 24 to Friday, March 28 and Monday, March 31 to Friday, April 4. The show will air from 8:00 to 9:00 p.m.

The 2008 Schedule:

Sunday, April 6 FC Dallas 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 19 @ Los Angeles Galaxy 9:00 p.m.

Saturday, April 26 @ Columbus Crew 6:00 p.m.

Saturday, May 17 @ Chicago Fire 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, May 28 @ FC Dallas 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, June 4 @ DC United 6:00 p.m.

Saturday, June 7 Toronto FC 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 16 Real Salt Lake 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, August 20 Chivas USA 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, August 31 Chicago Fire 5:30 p.m.

Sunday, September 7 Kansas City 1:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 13 @ San Jose Earthquakes 2:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 20 San Jose Earthquakes 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, September 27 @ Toronto FC 2:00 p.m.

Saturday, October 4 @ Colorado Rapids 8:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 12 DC United 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 18 Los Angeles Galaxy 7:00 p.m.

Note: All times reflect the start of the Infinity Insurance Pre-Game Report.

The 13 Dynamo games that are not aired on Channel 55 will be nationally televised on ESPN2, Fox Soccer Channel, HDNet, or Telefutura. This schedule is available on www.houstondynamo.com.


• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from March 17, 2008


The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.