NFL, NBA, NHL stats

CHL Playoff Format/Veteran Rule Finalized for 2011-12

September 9, 2011 - Central Hockey League (CHL) News Release

TEMPE, AZ (September 9, 2011) - The Central Hockey League (CHL) formally announced the playoff format and veteran rule for the 2011-12 season confirming that eight teams will qualify for post-season play and that the veteran rule for the league's 14 member teams will remain the same as the 2010-11 season. The decisions were discussed during the CHL's Summer Conference in Scottsdale, Arizona back in early June and the last details were recently voted on by the CHL's Board of Governors.

Of the league's 14 member teams, the four highest point totals from each conference will qualify for the playoffs and the opportunity to win the Turner Trophy and the N. Thomas Berry Trophy in the conference playoffs with the two conference winners facing off in the Ray Miron Presidents' Cup Finals.

All three rounds of the playoffs (the conference semifinals, the conference finals and the league finals) will be best-of-7 series formats.

The veteran rule will remain that a maximum of five players (excluding goaltenders) with more than 300 games of professional experience are eligible to be on a roster at one time, and teams can have a sixth veteran if he was re-signed from the team's previous season's final roster.

The CHL's historic 20th-Anniversary season begins on Friday, October 21.

• Discuss this story on the Central Hockey League message board...

Central Hockey League Stories from September 9, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew