NFL, NBA, NHL stats

BayHawks Win 2019 MLL Championship

October 6, 2019 - Major League Lacrosse (MLL) News Release

Denver, CO - The Chesapeake Bayhawks are bringing the Steinfeld Trophy back to Annapolis. The Bayhawks defeated the Denver Outlaws 10-9 in a thrilling MLL Championship Game Sunday at Dick's Sporting Goods Park. This is the Bahawks first title since 2013.

The Bayhawks came out of the gate determined. They jumped out to an early 5-0 lead in the first quarter. Chesapeake's first quarter goals came from five different players including Lyle Thompson, Steele Stanwick, Nick Mariano, Brendan Bomberry, and Shane Simpson. One of Denver's biggest problems was getting shots on target. The Outlaws only had three shots on goal in the opening frame.

The Bayhawks led 8-3 at halftime, but the Outlaws weren't about to lie down in front of a roaring home crowd. The Outlaws went on a 6-0 run over the span 27:45 to start the second half. Mikie Schlosser scored the tying goal with 11:39 left in the fourth, followed by a Ryan Lee go ahead goal at the 7:52 mark. The crowd of over 6,000 at Dick's Sporting Goods Park thought their Outlaws were well on their way to a second consecutive title.

The Bayhawks had different ideas. Dave Cottle's side stayed confident despite the long scoring drought, and it paid off. Steele Stanwick ended the drought and tied the game at nine with just over two minutes left. Stanwick then got his teammates involved, assisting on Andrew Kew's championship winning goal.

Stanwick was named MLL Championship Game MVP. He is the recipient of a ten thousand dollar check courtesy of New Balance.

• Discuss this story on the Major League Lacrosse message board...

Major League Lacrosse Stories from October 6, 2019

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew