NFL, MLB, CFL stats

 Ontario Hockey League

2019-20 OHL All-Rookie Teams Announced

May 27, 2020 - Ontario Hockey League (OHL) News Release

*** Part 1.1 - UTF-8

Toronto, Ont. - The Ontario Hockey League today announced its First and Second All-Rookie Team selections for the 2019-20 season.

The OHL All-Rookie Teams were selected by the OHL's General Managers, with voting conducted in two stages beginning with a Conference ballot followed by a final ballot that integrated the top selections from both the Eastern and Western Conference results.

OHL Rookie of the Year and 2019 OHL Priority Selection first overall pick Shane Wright of the Kingston Frontenacs headlined the First All-Rookie Team. Wright led OHL rookies as an exceptional status underage talent with 39 goals and 66 points over 58 games. He was joined on the First Team by former Don Mills Flyers Minor Midget teammates in second overall OHL Priority Selection choice Brennan Othmann of the Flint Firebirds and fourth overall pick Brandt Clarke of the Barrie Colts on the back end. Sudbury Wolves winger Chase Stillman and Finnish-born Windsor Spitfires rearguard Ruben Rafkin joined London Knights standout netminder Brett Brochu in completing the First Team.

The Second Team is centred by 2019 fifth overall OHL Priority Selection choice and Peterborough Petes 29-goal scorer Mason McTavish. He's joined up front by CHL Import Draft selections and 2020 NHL Draft prospects Martin Chromiak of the Kingston Frontenacs and Oliver Suni of the Oshawa Generals. On the blue line, North Bay Battalion rearguard Paul Christopoulos joins Saginaw Spirit defender Mitchell Smith in front of North Bay goaltender Joe Vrbetic to round out the group.

A total of 10 different teams were represented among the All-Rookie Team selections led by the Kingston Frontenacs and North Bay Battalion with a pair each.

2019-20 OHL All-Rookie Teams:

First All-Rookie Team:

C - Shane Wright, Kingston Frontenacs (OHL Rookie of the Year)

LW - Brennan Othmann, Flint Firebirds

RW - Chase Stillman, Sudbury Wolves

D - Brandt Clarke, Barrie Colts

D - Ruben Rafkin, Windsor Spitfires

G - Brett Brochu, London Knights

Second All-Rookie Team:

C - Mason McTavish, Peterborough Petes

LW - Martin Chromiak, Kingston Frontenacs

RW - Oliver Suni, Oshawa Generals

D - Paul Christopoulos, North Bay Battalion

D - Mitchell Smith, Saginaw Spirit

G - Joe Vrbetic, North Bay Battalion

• Discuss this story on the Ontario Hockey League message board...

Ontario Hockey League Stories from May 27, 2020

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central