NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Mohegan Sun to host NWBL Pro Cup

by Springfield Press Release
February 25, 2002 - National Women's Basketball League (NWBL)

UNCASVILLE, Conn., -- Mohegan Sun and the National Women's Basketball League (NWBL) announced today that the Mohegan Sun Arena has been chosen to host the NWBL Pro Cup Championship Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, March 26th, 27th and 28th. The championship will feature all six NWBL teams including the Springfield Spirit, Birmingham Power, Atlanta Justice, Houston Stealth, Chicago Blaze and Kansas City Legacy. Each team is guaranteed to play two out of the three days.

"Mohegan Sun continues to support the Springfield Spirit, and we are pleased to now work with them and elevate the league by hosting the Pro Cup Championship," said Paul Munick, vice president of sports and entertainment, Mohegan Sun. "We're giving women's basketball fans in the area the opportunity to see some of this sport's greatest athletes in an intimate venue. There's not a bad seat in our house."

Ticket packages for all three days will be on sale for one week only March 4th-10th at a cost of $60, $40 and $30. Tickets for individual games will go on sale March 11th at a cost of $22, $16 and $10. Tickets may be purchased through Mohegan Sun's in-house Box Office, on-line at, by calling at 1.800.477.6849 or at any outlet.

The Springfield Spirit is comprised of 12 players, including five former University of Connecticut women's basketball superstars - Rebecca Lobo, Kara Wolters, Shea Ralph, Rita Williams and Christine Rigby. The team played its season opener in the Mohegan Sun Arena on February 8th and is scheduled to return to play its season finale on March 24th against the Houston Stealth.

"I am excited to be given the opportunity to bring the 2002 Pro Cup Championships to Connecticut," said A. Steven Fox III, president and general manager, Springfield Spirit. "Mohegan Sun Arena has been a great venue for us and we're looking forward to coming back for the championships."

The NWBL is in its second professional season. Franchises play a 20-game season from February 5th to March 30th. Teams feature a number of players from the Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA) including: Rebecca Lobo (New York Liberty); Kara Wolters (Sacramento Monarchs); Rita Williams (Indiana Fever); Shea Ralph (Utah Starzz); Trisha Stafford-Odom (Houston Comets); Tynesha Lewis (Houston Comets); Tamecha Jackson (Portland Fire); Kelly Miller (Charlotte Sting); Coco Miller (Washington Mystics); Keshia Anderson (Washington Mystics); Tamara Stocks (Washington Mystics); Tracy Henderson (Cleveland Rockers); Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever); E.C Hill (New England Blizzard-ABL); Camile Cooper (New York Liberty).

"Opening night at the Mohegan Sun Arena was a first-class event for the fans, the players and the league. We look forward to returning with all six teams for the Pro Cup Championships," added Patrick Alexander president, NWBL. "This is a great opportunity for basketball fans of all ages to see some of the sport's top talent up close and personal."

With its state-of-the-art lighting and sound system, the Mohegan Sun Arena is the premier entertainment venue in Connecticut. Major sporting events, including championship boxing, professional basketball, tennis and bowling, along with world-renowned entertainers such as Tim McGraw, Gloria Estefan, Aerosmith and Janet Jackson have performed in this 10,000-seat venue.

• Discuss this story on the National Women's Basketball League message board...

National Women's Basketball League Stories from February 25, 2002

The opinions expressed in this article are those of the writer(s), and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew