Looking for stats?

Matt Holliday Inducted into AZ Fall Lge HOF

October 19, 2016 - Arizona Fall League (AzFL) News Release

Phoenix, Arizona - Outfielder Matt Holliday (2002-03 Mesa Solar Sox), who was elected to the Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame in 2014, will be formally inducted in ceremonites tonight at Scottsdale Stadium prior to the 6:35 p.m. Surprise Saguaros vs. Scottsdale Scorpions game.

Holliday, who has played 1,773 games in 13 major-league seasons with the Colorado Rockies (2004-08), Oakland Athletics (2009) and St. Louis Cardinals (2009-present), is a seven-time National League all-star (2006-08, '10-12) and four-time N.L. Silver Slugger Award recipient (2006-08, '10).

A rare career .300 hitter, he has hit .300 or better in five consecutive seasons (2005-09) and eight times overall. Among active players, he ranks seventh in doubles (448), eighth in RBI (1,153), 11th among in batting average (.303) and 12th in home runs (295).

Holliday leads active left fielders in hits (1,995), runs (1,104), home runs (295), RBI (1,153) and doubles (448) and ranks second in batting average (.303). He has played 14,482.2 innings in left field, ranking ninth all-time at the position.

From 2006-14, Holliday was the only player to record 20 home runs, 30 double and 75 RBI every season.

As a Cardinal, the Stillwater, OK native ranks 10th with a .494 slugging percentage and he boasts 102 game-winning RBI to rank second in franchise history.

He needs five hits to become the 280th career player in MLB history to amass 2,000 hits.

In 2007, besides winning the N.L. batting title (.340), he led the Rockies to their first N.L. pennant and World Series appearance. He topped 2007 postseason players with five home runs, won the NLCS MVP honor and scored the winning run in the 2007 tie-breaker game against San Diego to climax an amazing stretch as the Rockies won 14 of their last 15 games to reach postseason play.

Holliday is tied with Miguel Cabrera, Chipper Jones, Alex Rodriguez and Jim Edmonds for 14th in postseason home runs (13).

In 2006, Holliday also was a member of Team USA in the inaugural World Baseball Classic.

Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame - The Arizona Fall League formed its Hall of Fame in 2001 to honor the top major-league players and managers who honed their skills in the AFL. The selection committee, chaired by baseball ambassador Roland Hemond, the "Architect of the Arizona Fall League," selects candidates based upon individual achievement at the major-league level since participating in the Arizona Fall League.

AFL HOF Members - Garret Anderson - Dusty Baker - Chris Carpenter - Carl Crawford - Jermaine Dye - Darin Erstad - Terry Francona - Nomar Garciaparra - Jason Giambi - Brian Giles - Adrian Gonzalez - Shawn Green - Roy Halladay - Todd Helton - Matt Holliday - Ryan Howard - Torii Hunter - Derek Jeter - Paul Konerko - Derrek Lee - Grady Little - Derek Lowe - Ken Macha - Jerry Manuel - Andrew McCutchen - Bob Melvin - Dustin Pedroia - Tony Pena - Troy Percival - Mike Piazza - Albert Pujols - Jimmy Rollins - Mike Scioscia - Alfonso Soriano - Mark Teixeira - Chase Utley - Ron Washington - Eric Wedge - Michael Young

• Discuss this story on the Arizona Fall League message board...

Images from this story

Matt Holliday Inducted into AZ Fall Lge HOF
Matt Holliday Inducted into AZ Fall Lge HOF


Arizona Fall League Stories from October 19, 2016

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.