NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Hauer earns Governors' Trophy

by IHL Press Release
May 1, 2001 - International Hockey League 1 (IHL 1)


IHL Press Release

Moose Blueliner Voted Best by League Coaches For Second Straight Year

DETROIT – Brett Hauer of the Manitoba Moose has been named the IHL’s Defenseman of the Year. His name joins previous winners on the Governors’ Trophy awarded annually to the player voted to be the most outstanding defenseman based on performance over the course of the regular season by league coaches. Hauer, a 29-year-old native of Edina, Minnesota, also won the award last year and he is just the fourth player in IHL history to be honored in back-to-back seasons.

Hauer, who was assigned to Manitoba on Oct. 2, 2000 from the National Hockey League’s Edmonton Oilers, started the season with eleven points (4G, 7A) in his first ten games. He was named Defenseman of the Week for the week ending Oct. 29, 2000, as he recorded three points (2G, 1A) en route to two Manitoba victories. He had a three-game goal-scoring streak from Oct. 27-Nov. 4 during which he registered four goals. Hauer also had a four-game assist streak from Feb. 10-16 when he tallied four assists. He was named Defenseman of the Week on Mar. 26 after compiling four assists in three games the previous week. Hauer completed the IHL season with a total of 59 points (17G, 42A), first in defenseman scoring, tied for first with seven power-play goals among defenseman, second in defenseman goal scoring and second in defensemen assists. He also registered 13 multi-point games, including two three-point games and one four-point game. Hauer continues to play with the Moose as they battle the Houston Aeros in the opening round of the 2001 Turner Cup playoffs.

Originally selected by the Vancouver Canucks in the fourth round (71 st overall) of the 1989 NHL Entry Draft, Hauer’s rights were traded to Edmonton during the 1995-96 season where he played 29 games and recorded six points (4G, 2A). He also appeared in five games last season for Edmonton, registering two assists. Hauer’s previous IHL teams include Las Vegas (1993-94) and Chicago (1996-97). Before playing in the IHL, he played four seasons at the University of Minnesota-Duluth, recording 94 points (21G, 73A) in four seasons (1989-93). In his senior year he was named to the Western Collegiate Hockey Association First All-Star Team and NCAA West All-American Team.

Finishing a close second in balloting by head coaches was Orlando’s CURTIS MURPHY. Before an injury sidelined Murphy for February and March, he led all defensemen in points (45), goals (18) and power-play goals (7) and was fifth in league scoring. He finished the season with 49 points (19G, 30A) in 51 games. Others receiving votes (in alphabetical order): BUBBA BERENZWEIG (Milwaukee), BRIAN CHAPMAN (Manitoba), JOEL KWIATKOWSKI (Grand Rapids), MARC MORO (Milwaukee), TODD RICHARDS (Orlando) and TRAVIS RICHARDS (Grand Rapids).

Previous back-to-back winners of the Governors’ Trophy include; Muskegon’s MURRAY FLEGEL (1975-76), Milwaukee’s KEVIN WILLISON (1983-84) and Fort Wayne’s JIM BURTON (1986-87).

• Discuss this story on the International Hockey League 1 message board...

International Hockey League 1 Stories from May 1, 2001

The opinions expressed in this article are those of the writer(s), and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew