NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Dallas awarded Arena Football team

by AFL Press Release
August 19, 2000 - Arena Football League (1987-2008) (AFL I)


AFL Press Release

ORLANDO (August 19, 2000) -- The Arena Football League Board of Directors has awarded Dallas Cowboys owners Jerry Jones, Jerry Jones Jr. and Stephen Jones an Arena Football League expansion team for Dallas, during meetings on Friday at the site of ArenaBowl XIV in Orlando, announced AFL Commissioner David Baker.

The new team will be run on a day to day basis by Stephen Jones, and begin play as soon as April 2001, contingent on securing an arena lease.

“Our new Arena Football team will provide the opportunity for sports fans in Dallas to enjoy the game of football year-round,” said Stephen Jones. “The Arena Football League is legitimate big-time football. The Cowboys are committed to providing championship-caliber Arena Football in a family and fan-focused environment in the city of Dallas.”

The name 'Dallas Texans' is being considered by the Joneses and the AFL is prepared to award that name.

“The hottest and fastest-growing sport in the nation is honored to be associated with established and successful NFL owners like the Jones family,” said Commissioner Baker. “Stephen and his staff will help shape the future of Arena Football by serving fans through the development of fan-friendly, year-round football.”

NFL bylaws previously prohibited NFL owners from investing in other football leagues or teams but an amendment to NFL rules was adopted on May 22, 1998 allowing for an exception for Arena Football teams in an NFL club's own market.

The Dallas team becomes the fourth team granted to an NFL ownership group since the amendment. New Orleans Saints owner Tom Benson was awarded an Arena Football League team in June 1998. Washington Redskins owners Daniel Snyder and Fred Drasner were awarded an AFL team in December 1999. Detroit Lions owner William Ford Jr. partnered with The Palace Sports and Entertainment group and was awarded a team in Detroit in November 1999. Four other NFL owners have applied to the AFL and their applications are in the approval process.

Dallas becomes the AFL’s 23rd team.

• Discuss this story on the Arena Football League (1987-2008) message board...

Arena Football League (1987-2008) Stories from August 19, 2000

The opinions expressed in this article are those of the writer(s), and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew