NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Dakota's Dave Joerger named 2003-04 CBA Coach of the Year

March 9, 2004 - Continental Basketball Association 1 (CBA 1) News Release

Boise, ID (March 9, 2004) — The Continental Basketball Association announced today that Dakota Wizards Head Coach Dave Joerger has been named the 2003-04 CBA Coach of the Year. It is the second time in three seasons that he has received the honor, which is voted on by CBA General Managers.

“Any time your peers feel you are doing a good job, it is quite an honor,” remarked Joerger, whose Wizards open the 2004 CBA Playoffs Tuesday night against the Rockford Lightning and 2002-03 Coach of the Year Chris Daleo. “As competitive as our league was this year, it could have gone in any number of directions, and I am very honored to be chosen for this award.”

Joerger led the Wizards to a 34-14 record this season and won the regular season title with 216 quarter-points, finishing 10.5 quarter-points ahead of second place Idaho (205.5), who had the same overall record. He was twice named the CBA Coach of the Month, for the months of November (6-1, 5.1 quarter-point average) and January (6-1, 5.1 quarter-point average), as he guided Dakota into the CBA Playoffs for the third straight year. The Wizards earned the top seed despite losing six different players to NBA call-ups throughout the course of the season (Sean Lampley – Golden State Warriors, Oliver Miller – Minnesota Timberwolves, Kaniel Dickens – Portland Trail Blazers, Maurice Carter – Los Angeles Lakers, Eddie Gill – Portland Trail Blazers, Rodney Buford – Sacramento Kings).

The Moorhead State (Minn.) alum guided the Wizards to a 13-11 road record, and a 21-3 mark at home in the Bismarck Civic Center. The home record, and .875 winning percentage, tied the 1984-85 Albany Patroons, the 1986-87 Rapid City Thrillers, and the 2003-04 Idaho Stampede for 10th place on the All-Time CBA Single-Season Home Winning Percentage List. The Wizards also led the league in opponents scoring (104.1 ppg) and rebounds (2,111), and was second in steals (522), and third in assists (1,194).

Joerger now has an overall CBA coaching record of 91-45, and ranks fourth on the All-Time CBA Coaches Winning Percentage List at .669, behind coaches George Karl (.727, 176-66), Golden State Head Coach Eric Musselman (.689, 270-122), and Bill Musselman (.689, 188-85), and ahead of CBA coaching greats Flip Saunders (.649, 253-137) and Phil Jackson (.565, 117-90). In his first CBA season, he led the Wizards to the CBA Title en route to receiving the 2001-02 CBA Coach of the Year honor.

Idaho Stampede coach Larry Krystkowiak finished second in the voting, while Gary Steelheads coach Duane Ticknor finished third. On Wednesday, March 10, the 2003-04 CBA Rookie of the Year award winner will be announced.

• Discuss this story on the Continental Basketball Association 1 message board...

Continental Basketball Association 1 Stories from March 9, 2004

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew