NFL, NBA, NHL stats

CPIFL Announces Individual Awards

June 20, 2013 - Champions Professional Indoor Football League (CPIFL) News Release

Lawrence, KS. - Each week during the Champions Professional Indoor Football League (CPIFL) season, players and coaches showcased their talent for fans across America's heartland. During the season, 32 different players were recognized as Players of the Week for their outstanding performances. Today, they are being recognized for their success throughout the year. The CPIFL is honoring individuals in seven different categories.

Most Valuable Player and Offensive Player of the Year: Dane Simoneau, Salina Bombers

Simoneau led the league in passing yards with 1,951 and finished second in touchdown passes with 39, leading the expansion Bombers to a 9-3 record and an appearance in Saturday's Champions Bowl. Simoneau added 242 rushing yards for a total of 2,193 yards of offense which led the CPIFL. Simoneau scored eight rushing touchdowns which was second among quarterbacks in the league.

MVP Honorable Mention: Rocky Hinds, Wichita Wild

Offensive Player of the Year Honorable Mention: Johnny Bentley, Sioux City Bandits

Defensive Player of the Year: Matt Moss, Wichita Wild

The Wild defense led the league allowing only 25.8 points per game with Matt Moss terrorizing quarterbacks throughout the league. Moss led the CPIFL in sacks with 13.5 and tackles for loss with 19.5. The Wichita defense recorded 39 sacks during the regular season which was nine more than the second ranked team.

Honorable Mention: Ross Cochran, Bloomington Edge and Peter Buck, Omaha Beef

Special Teams Player of the Year: OJ Simpson, Kansas City Renegades

Simpson was the definition of a game changer during the season as he finished second in the league averaging 24.0 yards per kick return. Simpson led the CPIFL with three kickoff returns for touchdown and added a missed field goal return for a touchdown.

Honorable Mention: LaVaughn Macon, Bloomington Edge

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Patrick Jones, Oklahoma Defenders

Jones finished the season with 62 receptions for 765 yards leading the league in both categories. His 14 receiving touchdowns were tied for third in the CPIFL.

Honorable Mention: Ricky Roberts, Salina Bombers and Shane Scott, Lincoln Haymakers

Defensive Rookie of the Year: DeWayne Autrey, Salina Bombers

The Bombers defense finished second in the league allowing only 167.1 yards per game in the regular seasons. Autrey finished second in the CPIFL in interceptions with nine and finished third for the Bombers in tackles with 55.

Honorable Mention: Pompey Festejo, Sioux City Bandits/Salina Bombers and Victor Clore, Oklahoma Defenders

Coach of the Year: Bob Frey, Salina Bombers

Frey led the Bombers to a 9-3 record in the regular season and an upset over Sioux City in the first round of the playoffs to qualify the Bombers for Champions Bowl. What is most impressive is Frey and the Bombers staff built the roster from scratch and led the team to this success in their first year of operation.

Honorable Mention: Erv Strohbeen, Sioux City Bandits and Morris Lolar, Wichita Wild

Champions Bowl I takes place on Saturday in Wichita and will feature the Wild and the Salina Bombers. Complete coverage can be found at and on Facebook at

• Discuss this story on the Champions Professional Indoor Football League message board...

Champions Professional Indoor Football League Stories from June 20, 2013

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew