NFL, NBA, NHL stats

CHL Announces Franchise Awards

July 20, 2013 - Central Hockey League (CHL) News Release

GLENDALE, AZ (July 19, 2013) - The Central Hockey League's (CHL) 18th annual "˜Summer Conference' concluded on Friday night at the Arizona Biltmore Resort in Phoenix with the league's awards banquet honoring the top front office executives and team achievements from the 2012-13 season.

For the third straight season, the Missouri Mavericks earned the league's highest organizational honor by winning the CHL Franchise of the Year. The Mavs won five additional awards taking home the Group Ticket Sales, Ticket Sales and Corporate Partnership awards along with team President Brent Thiessen winning the Brad Treliving Executive of the Year and team broadcaster Bob Rennison winning the Broadcaster of the Year.

The Wichita Thunder finished right behind the Mavericks winning five awards including Thunder Co-Owner Rodney Steven winning the CHL Leadership Award. Two other Thunder staffers were honored with Luke Schuellein winning the Ticketing Executive of the Year and Jason Mals winning the Communications Executive of the Year. The Thunder also gained recognition in Game Operations and were named the Most Improved Franchise.

Denver Governor Greg Smith was named the winner of the Kozuback Award, named in recognition of former CHL President Rick Kozuback, which is "˜presented annually to the Central Hockey League owner, front office staff member, coach or player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, determination and commitment to the game, sport and business of hockey.' Smith helped the expansion Cutthroats get off to a solid start fighting their way to a playoff berth while battling a personal illness (cancer) that saw him fight a much different battle.

The Cutthroats also earned honors in New Media and Merchandising.

The Arizona Sundogs took home the evenings other two awards by being named the Community Relations Franchise of the Year and marketing executive Lew Rees winning the Ralph Backstrom Soul of Service award given for outstanding customer service.

The entire list of award winners is below:

Ralph Backstrom Soul of Service Award - Lew Rees, Arizona Sundogs

CHL Game Operations Franchise of the Year - Wichita Thunder

CHL Merchandising Franchise of the Year - Denver Cutthroats

CHL Community Relations Franchise of the Year - Arizona Sundogs

CHL New Media Franchise of the Year - Denver Cutthroats

CHL Broadcaster of the Year - Bob Rennison, Missouri Mavericks

CHL Communications Executive of the Year - Jason Mals, Wichita Thunder

CHL Corporate Partnership Team of the Year - Missouri Mavericks

CHL Group Sales Franchise of the Year - Missouri Mavericks

CHL Ticketing Executive of the Year - Luke Schuellein, Wichita Thunder

CHL Ticket Sales Franchise of the Year - Missouri Mavericks

Rick Kozuback Award - Greg Smith, Denver Cutthroats

CHL Leadership Award - Rodney Steven, Wichita Thunder

CHL Most Improved Franchise - Wichita Thunder

Brad Treliving CHL Executive of the Year - Brent Thiessen, Missouri Mavericks

CHL Franchise of the Year - Missouri Mavericks

• Discuss this story on the Central Hockey League message board...

Central Hockey League Stories from July 20, 2013

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew