NFL, NBA, NHL stats

ABA Awards Outstanding People

April 11, 2010 - American Basketball Association (ABA) News Release

Indianapolis, IN. The American Basketball Association (ABA) today named its Outstanding People Awards for the 2009-2010 season. "This was a great year," said Joe Newman, ABA CEO. "So many people contributed to this being a very successful season. When we looked at overall performance, it is little wonder that many of the awards went to the SETX Mavericks. From start to finish, they did a great job at every level. But then, so did a lot of people around the league."

Team of the Year: Southeast Texas Mavericks

Executive of the Year: Candace Nelson, Southeast Texas Mavericks

General Manager of the Year: Cindy Preast, West Virginia Blazers

Coach of the Year: Steve Tucker, Southeast Texas Mavericks

Assistant Coach of the Year: Kevin Keathley, Southeast Texas Mavericks

Community Service Award: Damone Hale, San Francisco Rumble

Most Valuable Player: Josh Pace, Southeast Texas Mavericks

Offensive Player of the Year: Derek Foster, San Francisco Rumble

Defensive Player of the Year: Daniel Price, Mississippi Blues

Rookie of the Year: Ahmad "Beany" Mosely, Jersey Express

Outstanding Service Award: Tom Chichester, ABA Director of Officials

"Equally as difficult as naming these awards was the task of naming an All-ABA Team," added Newman. "We have such great talent in this league and there are so many deserving players. We decided to name three teams plus honorable mentions - and certainly do not want to slight any of our great players."

First Team All-ABA

Josh Pace, SETX Mavericks

Jermaine Blackburn, SETX Mavericks

Derek Foster, SF Rumble

Mike Wells, Kentucky Fisons

Sam Mack, Chicago Steam

Second Team All-ABA

Kenny Jones, Kentucky Bisons

Devin Davis, Jersey Express

Dominick Melton, Lake Michigan Admirals

Bobby Perry, Bluegrass Stallions

Mario Saunders, West Texas Whirlwinds.

Third Team All-ABA

Leon Flaherty, Riverside Rainmakers

Cordell Butler, San Francisco Rumble

Lukasz Obrzut, Bluegrass Stallions

Jon Rogers, SETX Mavericks

Rashaad Powell, Seattle Mountaineers

Honorable Mention

Daniel Price, Mississippi Blues

Ahmad "Beany" Mosely, Jersey Express

Jason McNeil, Texas Fuel

Chris Reaves, Los Angeles SLAM

Chauncy Ephram, West Texas Whirlwind

Chris Grant, NY Thunder

Herman Favors, SETX Mavericks

Terry Menefee, San Diego SURF

Chris Laurica, New York Red Riders

Troy Goodman, Jersey Express

Corey Love, West Virginia Blazers

Jay Bowdy, West Texas Fresh

For more information, visit

Note: OurSports Central no longer actively covers the American Basketball Association (ABA) as a professional league due in part to its inability to publish and play a schedule and the transitory nature of many of its teams. For information on professional minor leagues, please see OSC's basketball section.

• Discuss this story on the American Basketball Association message board...

American Basketball Association Stories from April 11, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew