NFL, NBA, NHL stats

ABA Announces All-Decade Team

March 19, 2010 - American Basketball Association (ABA) News Release

Indianapolis, IN. The American Basketball Association (ABA) ( today announced its All-Decade Team covering 2000-2009. "We have had, and continue to have, some fabulous athletes in the ABA," stated Joe Newman, ABA CEO. "We thought it would be nice to recognize some of the outstanding players and coaches over the past decade. And we feel that many of our current players are of equal caliber and can compete with any team. This was not an easy task at all."

ABA First Team All-Decade

Joe Crispin - Kansas City Knights

Kareem Reed - Arkansas RimRockers

Daryan Selvy, Arkansas Aeros

Tim Ellis - Bellevue Blackhawks

Clay Tucker - Utah Snowbears

Sun Yue - Beijing Aoshen Olympian

Antwain Barbour - Kentucky Colonels

DeRon Rutledge - SETX Mavericks

Dennis Rodman - Long Beach JAM

Boris Siakam - Kentucky Bisons

Jamario Moon - Kentucky Colonels

Cedric McGinnis - Atlanta Vision

George Leach - Carolina Thunder

Derrick Dial - Long Beach JAM

ABA Second Team All-Decade

Harold Arceneaux - Utah Snowbears

Dontae Jones - Nashville Rhythm

Brian Jackson - Arkansas RimRockers

Daryl (Magic) Dorsey - Las Vegas Rattlers

Caleb Gervin - Detroit Dogs

Lamar Castille - San Jose Skyrockets

Shaun Fountain - Indiana Alley Cats

Aaron Cook - Vermont Frost Heaves

Johnny Tyson - Texas Tycoons

Anthony Epps - Kentucky Colonels

Tim Pledger - St. Louis Stunners

Tim Hardaway - Florida Pit Bulls

Armon Gilliam - Pittsburgh Xplosion

Sam Mack - Chicago Steam

Anthony Anderson - Manchester Millrats

ABA First Team Coaches All-Decade

Steve Tucker - Texas Tycoons, Jacksonville JAM, SETX Mavericks. Tucker is the Dean of ABA coaches having coached in the ABA since the 2004 season and has taken three different teams to the playoffs and is reigning coach of the year as well as the all-time wins leader in the league.

Kevin Pritchard - Kansas City Knights. Following a successful career with the Knights, a former ABA Champion, Pritchard went on to work with the NBA Portland Trailblazers as a coach, GM and then President of the team.

Will Voigt - Vermont Frostheaves. Will won back-to-back ABA Championships and after a three-year stint, he accepted the Head Coaching position with the Bakersfield JAM in the NBDL. He is second to only Steve Tucker in all-time ABA wins.

ABA Second Team Coaches All-Decade

Kevin Keathley - Kentucky Colonels, SETX Mavericks. The former 2005 co-Coach of the year, he also signed future NBA player Jamario Moon. His teams upstyle tempo held set several ABA scoring records.

Greg Graham - Indiana Alley Cats. Led the Alley Cats to one of the best records in A BA history and was named 2006 Coach of the Year. A former NBA player and now a successful high school coach.

Otis Key - Kentucky Bisons. Helped mold the team that won the 2009 ABA Championship and is a contender again this season. Otis is a former Harlem Globetrotter.

Andy Stoglin - Mississippi Stingers. A veteran college coach, Andy led Mississippi to one of the best records in the league in 2004-2005 and later became head coach of the Arkansas Rimrockers in the NBDL.

The teams were compiled by Steve Tucker and Kevin Keathley, coaches for the SETX Mavericks. For more information, visit

Note: OurSports Central no longer actively covers the American Basketball Association (ABA) as a professional league due in part to its inability to publish and play a schedule and the transitory nature of many of its teams. For information on professional minor leagues, please see OSC's basketball section.

• Discuss this story on the American Basketball Association message board...

American Basketball Association Stories from March 19, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew