Looking for stats?

2018 MLL Regular Season to Open April 21

November 29, 2017 - Major League Lacrosse (MLL) News Release

2018 MLL REGULAR SEASON TO OPEN APRIL 21 18th season in league history starts with three-game slate

BOSTON - Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier outdoor professional lacrosse league, announced today the 2018 regular season will open on Saturday, April 21 with three games: Denver at New York, Boston at Charlotte and Dallas at Chesapeake. The Blaze will host the Launch on Sunday, April 22 to close out the opening weekend. All game times have yet to be announced.

The defending champion Ohio Machine will open their season in Week 2 when they host New York at Fortress Obetz on April 29 in the first of three consecutive home games.

The Dallas Rattlers will play their inaugural season in their new home city of Frisco, Texas starting with consecutive road games against Chesapeake and Charlotte. The team will host the first MLL regular season game ever at Ford Center at The Star on April 29 against the Outlaws, last year's league runners-up.

The teams that have faced off in each of the last two MLL Championship Games, Ohio and Denver, will play each other twice in a three-week span. The Outlaws host the Machine in Week 8 and they will travel to Ohio in Week 10. The Machine will return to the site of their 2017 MLL Championship victory on June 16 when they face the Rattlers at Ford Center at The Star.

The 2018 MLL All-Star Game will be played on June 28, while the MLL Championship Game is set for August 18. Locations for those games will be announced at a later date.

Other storylines include three-time All-Star Will Manny, who was traded from Boston to New York last summer, playing his first game in Boston as a member of the Lizards on June 23. Also, Matt Gibson and Tommy Palasek will return to New York to face their former team as members of the Blaze for the first time on May 6. Both players signed with Atlanta after filing for Player Movement.

Click here to download the full schedule.

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston. MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports since 2001. The league is made up of nine teams: The Atlanta Blaze, Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Dallas Rattlers, Denver Outlaws, Florida Launch, New York Lizards and Ohio Machine.

• Discuss this story on the Major League Lacrosse message board...

Major League Lacrosse Stories from November 29, 2017

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.