NFL, NBA, NHL stats

2014 All-PIFL Teams Announced

July 7, 2014 - Professional Indoor Football League (PIFL) News Release

NASHVILLE, TN (July 7, 2014) - Based on voting conducted by the teams and league officials, the Professional Indoor Football League (PIFL) is proud to announce the members of the 2014 All-PIFL 1st and 2nd Teams.

Ending the regular season with the best overall record, comes as no surprise that the Nashville Venom lead the way with nine overall selections including landing a league-high five first-team nods. The receiving tandem of Phillip Barnett and Jordan Jolly earned slots on the league's top team combining to haul in 47 touchdowns and ended as the only receiving duo to both go over the century mark in yards. Other first-team Venom notables include C Chris Thompson, LB Cobrani Mixion, as well as DB Scooter Rogers.

With an overall seven members, the Columbus Lions bring home the second most nods comprising of three first-team selections in FB Kendrick Perry, OL Dion Small, and DB Roshawn Marshall. Perry earned his third consecutive All-PIFL 1st Team nod scoring multiple touchdowns in 10 of 12 games while Marshall picked up his second straight 1st team gesture finishing the regular season with the most interceptions with ten.

The expansion Freedom landed five overall players including two by FB Melik Brown, one as the 1st Team Iron-Man and the other as 2nd Team Fullback. Also representing Trenton is QB Warren Smith who was voted as the top overall QB finishing the season leading all passers in yards (2,589) along with DL Gerrard Bryant led all pass rushers racking up the most tackles for loss (18.5).

Five members from Richmond and Georgia we're handpicked with both landing a pair on the 1st Team. For the second time in three years T.C. Stevens was nominated as the top overall kicker while despite playing on the league's statistically worst defense Georgia's LB Adrian McLeod leading all linebackers with four interceptions.

For the second consecutive season Alabama WR Mico McSwain was the top overall vote-getter ending the season with the most receiving yards (1,118) while teammate WR Charles McClain finished as the 2nd Team KR specialist for second straight year as well.

As a kick return specialist and defensive back as well as the only defensive player to lead his club in all-purpose yards Dwayne Hollis received both of the Steelhawks two lone selections meanwhile carrying the lone 1st Team nod for Harrisburg is DL Amara Kamara who led the club in 11.5 sacks.

For a full list of the PIFL 1st and 2nd Team selections along with previews to this Saturday night's 2014 PIFL Championship Game log on to

POS. 1st Team 2nd Team

WR Phillip Barnett - Nashville Jarmon Fortson - Columbus

WR Mico McSwain - Alabama Johnny Lester - Georgia

WR Jordan Jolly - Nashville John Harris - Georgia

FB Kendrick Perry - Columbus Melik Brown - Trenton

OL Dion Small - Columbus Stanlee Bradley - Nashville

OL Chris Thompson - Nashville Kynneth Moses - Richmond

OL Aaron Wheeler - Georgia Lavon McCoy - Trenton

QB Warren Smith - Trenton E.J. Nemeth - Harrisburg

KR Dwayne Hollis - Lehigh Valley Leroy Vann - Columbus

K T.C. Stevens - Richmond Craig Camay - Columbus

Iron-man Melik Brown - Trenton Charles McClain - Alabama

DL Devin Jones - Richmond James Fraizier - Nashville

DL Gerrard Bryant - Trenton Wayne Daniels - Nashville

DL Amara Kamara - Harrisburg Darian Barnes - Alabama

LB Adrian McLeod - Georgia Jermaine Thaxton - Harrisburg

LB Cobrani Mixion - Nashville Gus Tyson - Richmond

DB Scooter Rogers - Nashville Damian Daniels - Columbus

DB Dwayne Hollis - Lehigh Valley Armar Watson - Harrisburg

DB Roshawn Marshall - Columbus Corry Stewart - Nashville

• Discuss this story on the Professional Indoor Football League message board...

Professional Indoor Football League Stories from July 7, 2014

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew