Indoor and Arena Football History

National Indoor Football League (NIFL)
National Indoor Football League (NIFL)
Active: 2001-2007

NIFL logoNIFL logoAfter Mike Storen became commissioner of the IPFL, he instituted a stronger league structure which didn't set well with some IPFL team owners. They believed the league's demands only increased their costs and irritation. Among them was original team owner Carolyn Shiver. She took her Louisiana franchise, and along with Mississippi and Mobile, struck off on their own to form the National Indoor Football League in 2000.

Shiver became league president and directed the circuit with the help of an executive committee of other owners. Starting with 18 teams in 2001, the league has expanded aggressively since its formation but has also lost franchises every year. Still, league membership has hovered in the mid-20s since the first couple of seasons.

When arenafootball2 bought the Indoor Football League and left many of its markets without teams, the NIFL quickly filled the void by placing franchises in many of the IFL's former markets. When the IPFL went out of business in 2001, the NIFL absorbed three of its remaining teams.

Formed from the break with the IPFL, the NIFL has also seen teams leave over the years. In 2005, 10 franchises, including some of the league's strongest, left the league to help form United Indoor Football. After absorbing four Intense Football League teams that same year, four teams broke away at the end of the season to re-form the Intense league.

Though its lineup changed frequently over the years, the NIFL was the longest surviving indoor football league, excluding the Arena leagues. But a disastrous 2007 season in which less than half the league's scheduled games was played spelled the end of the NIFL.

Alameda Action
Arkansas Stars
Atlanta Thoroughbreds
Atlantic City CardSharks
Austin Knights
Austin Rockers
Bay Bandits
Big Sky Thunder
Bismarck Roughriders
Charlotte Fusion
Colorado Castle Rocks
Colorado Venom
Colorado Wild Riders
Columbia Stingers
Dayton Bulldogs
Daytona Beach Hawgs
Denver Aviators
Eugene Mercury
Florida Frenzy
Fort Myers Tarpons
Fort Worth Sixers
Fresno Fury
Green Cove Lions
Greensboro Revolution
Hammond Heroes
Hattiesburg Playmakers
Houma Bayou Bucks
Houston Wild Riders
Jacksonville Stallions
Johnstown J-Dogs
Kissimmee Kreatures
La Crosse Night Train
Lake Charles Land Sharks
Lincoln Capitols
Long Beach Muscle Heads
Los Angeles Diamonds
Los Angeles Lynx
Louisiana Rangers
Louisiana/Monroe Bayou Beast
Lubbock GunSlingers
Miami Morays
Miami Vice Squad
Mississippi Fire Dogs
Mobile Musketeers
Mobile Seagulls
Myrtle Beach Stingrays/Carolina Rays
New Jersey Xtreme
Oklahoma Crude
Palm Beach Phantoms
Palm Beach Waves
Pomona Cool Riders
Port St. Lucie Mustangs
Pueblo Pistols
Rapid City Flying Aces
River Cities Locomotives
Sacramento Wildfire
San Antonio Steers
San Bernardino Bucking Bulls
San Diego Shockwave
San Francisco Quakes
Sarasota Knights
Show Me Believers
Southern Oregon Heat
St. Joseph Explorers
St. Joseph Storm
St. Louis/River City Renegades
Tampa Tide
Tennessee River Sharks
Tennessee Thundercats
Tennessee/Greenville RiverHawks
The Marshals
Topeka Top Guns
Tri-City Diesel
Tri-Valley Ranchers
Twin City Gators
Utah Rattlers
Utah Warriors
Wichita Falls Thunder
Winston-Salem Energy
Winston-Salem Wildcats
Yakima Shockwave