Indoor and Arena Football History

American Indoor Football Association (AIFA)
American Indoor Football Association (AIFA)
Active: 2005-2010

AIFL logoIn 2005, the Atlantic Indoor Football League took the field with six teams, including two travelling squads. After an abbreviated first season, the renamed the American Indoor Football League expanded by 10 teams for 2006. In 2010, the remaining teams in the AIFA Eastern Division merged with the Southern Indoor Football League, while three teams in the West attempted to form the AIFA West. When one team folded before playing a game and a planned expansion team didn't materialize, the remaining two teams instead played an independent schedule.

AIFL Ghostchasers
Arctic Predators
Baltimore Blackbirds
Baltimore Mariners
Binghamton Brigadiers
Canton Legends
Carolina Ghostriders
Chattahoochee Valley Vipers
Columbus Blackhawks
D.C. Armor
Danville Demolition
Erie Freeze
Florence Phantoms
Florida Stingrays
Gulf Coast Raiders
Huntington Heroes
Johnstown RiverHawks
Lakeland ThunderBolts
Mississippi Mudcats
Montgomery Bears
New Jersey Revolution
New Mexico Wildcats
Ogden Knights
Pennsylvania Cardinals
Philadelphia Scorpions
Reno Barons
Richmond Bandits
Stockton Wolves
Syracuse Soldiers
Utah Saints
Yakima Valley Warriors

Tucson Thunder Kats